Live Chat

Made in the USA

Colonial Series

Great Features - Better Value


Our Colonial line offers 50% more fire protection than competitor safes at the same price, and are packed with additional features, including:

  • 60 minutes of certified fire protection
  • 11-gauge steel safe body
  • Up to 10 - ¼” thick locking bars

The Colonial models also include these features and accessories:

  • 3-in-1 Flex™ interior
  • Economy-style interior door panel

Additionally, the Extreme model also features these upgrades:

  • 6-in-1 Flex Interior
  • 10 pack rifle rods starter kit
Lifetime Warranty • Made in the USA

PRICE: Starting at $1,399
Payments starting as low as $31.82 for 60 months (14.99% APR) or 12 Months Same-As-Cash! Subject to credit approval.

Build your Colonial

 

Looking for something else? View our other safes!

Colonial Ratings and Reviews


Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating View All Ratings

Average 4.9 out of 5 stars for 5265 customers ratings and reviews


Wrong label caused physical verification of fire rating.
written by JEB on December 23, 2015
The safe i purchased was a Co23 with 60 min fire rating. The one i received had a 40 min label. The measured dimensions indicated there was not the number of fire boards a 60 min safe should have. The Liberty rep just wanted to put another label and said they had just mislabelled the safe when they change models on the assembly line. Did not know how many had gotten by. The dimensions on the website and brochure are wrong and off by 1 1/2" (indicating not enought fireboard). When i said i needed proof that this was in fact a 60 min safe, i finally got a rep out from the store i purchased it from to disassemble certain areas to show me the quantity of fireboards. it turned out to be sufficient but really left some doubt and a bad taste for the safe. I wonder if i had purchased a 40 min safe and got a 60 min label if i would have just assumed, like many others that this apparently happens to, i had a higher fire rating and been led astray to thinking i had more protection than i really had. it can happen both ways. rather than be so indifferent, liberty should respond proactively into finding the root cause and solution to this serious issue.
Liberty's Response:
This was an unfortunate oversite, sorry for the confusion. We have worked with our production team to ensure that it doesn't happen again. We appreciate the feedback. 

Brand new safe but it will not open
written by Angel on March 4, 2014
Something must be wrong with the slip clutch/handle. The store is supposed to be sending a replacement safe. Will write a new review after the new safe is here and in working condition.
Liberty's Response:
I'm forwarding your comment to our customer service manager, Brandon Davis. He will have someone in our customer service department contact you first of this next week.
 
We obviously need to get your safe working in proper condition. Thanks for letting us know.
UPDATED REVIEW: March 8, 2014
Good product
Someone from the store came out and worked on the door and it is now in working condition.

Poor service
written by JR on September 27, 2013
I ordered a colonial 30 gun safe on March 6th. I was told I would have it first part of April. It got back ordered ( I understand that business get busy). I finally got it on June 21. I put it in my house, unpackaged it and the outside looks fine but it will not open. We went through the troubleshooting process in the book and the online troubleshooting. still won't open. Called liberty, tried troubleshooting still nothing . then they put me in touch with sergeant and Greenleaf they cannot get it open. They said they would call me back never did. I called liberty again they were going to get a locksmith out to look at it but the qualified locksmith is 600 miles round trip, so they said it was cheaper to build me another safe (first of July) and ship it to me then to send him. Which I was not for drilling a hole in my brand new safe.( I did not buy a damaged safe I bought a new safe) They told me 4 to 6 weeks I should have a new one. I called at the 4 week period and they never had ordered it yet. Then I was told another six weeks before I would have a new safe. I waited approximately 8 weeks and today (9-27-2013) I was told it has not been built yet and it would be another 3 to 4 weeks before it was built. It seems like they are just guessing at times that they tell customers to pacify them and giving me the run around.
I read a lot of reviews before buying this safe. I cannot believe that liberty is not stepping up to the plate and taking care of this issue in a more timely manner. Every time I call in I get more upset with this company. I would like to get this problem resolved immediately either by having a new undamaged safe or a full refund on my money.
Liberty's Response:
No question about it JR, this wait time to fix your safe is way to long for a resolution. We will talk to our customer service manager to expedite your safe. We'll keep in touch today.
UPDATED REVIEW: November 25, 2013
Finally got my safe and really like it
Brandon @ Liberty contacted me right away, we talked about the issue and he worked with me through the whole thing. He got me another safe coming right away. I had it in a few days. When it showed up the shipping company had damaged it. I contacted Brandon again and he got the third safe built and shipped to me right away. The third safe showed up and it was perfect shape.
I am very happy that liberty stepped up to the plate and took care of the issue.
I really like the safe, it has everything that I need and lots of shelving for storage

6 month wait... Still no safe?
written by The forgotten customer on September 7, 2013
I strongly suggest looking elsewhere for a safe unless your willing to wait half a year to get it! I ordered a safe back in March 2013, after 4 different estimates as to when it would arrive, I'm still left waiting. Its now sept. and I've got a new "maybe" date. While the customer service rep was nice and said she would send me some free items as an apology, I haven't even got those yet......while I'm assuming its a good safe in high demand, I suggest if your willing to fork over $1700 as I did, perhaps another safe that you can actually obtain would be a better option. As this point a cardboard box has a better security/fire rating than nothing at all. Good luck!!! Although I'm willing to bet this review will never be posted anyway.
Liberty's Response:
If you ordered in March, we agree, that is too long based on our current lead times. Let us look into it and see if we can make it work this time.
UPDATED REVIEW: October 13, 2014
Follow up review
I posted a previous review under "the forgotten customer". It wouldn't be fair if I didn't post a follow up review. My concerns were addressed immediately and liberty safes customer service has been outstanding. It would appear that they really do care about their customers. Even with my initial complaints I would definitely purchase another product from Liberty without hesitation. Thanks again.

Glad the headache is over with
written by ann on September 3, 2013
I guess the safe is an ok product except the fact that it came in with a noticeable dent in it and it was so frustrating getting the thing in the first place its not worth taking back. I think if gander mountain had been up front from the get go and said up to 13 weeks for it to come in instead of just stretching it out, it would have been better. And if they can find a more professional delivery service instead of some guy that calls you back at 10 oclock at night that says he is delivering the safe the next day and never shows and does not respond to his phone...
Liberty's Response:
Wow ann, looks like there were aspects of your purchase that turned into quite the hassle. We'll contact you to get more information so we can forward onto our retailer and makes the changes to avoid these issues in the future.

Safe will not open
written by Not Happy! on July 12, 2013
Right now the safe will not open. Once this is resolved I will feel different.
Liberty's Response:
Okay, we'll have someone in customer service call you right away.

A Terrible Experience
written by An Unhappy Customer on May 28, 2013
Purchased a TR25 from Gander Mountain on Saturday, May 18. Brought it home and the lock would not work. Contacted Liberty on Monday a.m. and they advised they were sending a new lock to a servicing locksmith who would contact me and replace the lock. Locksmith never contacted me. I called the locksmith this morning (May 28) and they advised they received the work request on May 20 but still had not received the lock. Here I sit with a brand new $1100 gun safe that doesn't work and terrible support. If it wasn't such a difficult task I would return the safe.
Liberty's Response:
No question about it Unhappy Customer, you should have had this taken care of already. I will forward to our customer service manager to follow up on and to expedite your service. Thanks for letting us know. We'll stay in touch.

Lock is no good
written by John B on April 11, 2013
Waited a few months for the safe, got it, worked ok for a few days now the safe wont open, the when I punch in my key code I can hear the latch move to allow me to open the door but the crank will not unlock the bolts. I have all my guns, ammo and money in the safe and can not get to them...this is very frustrating.
Liberty's Response:
John, we'll have someone contact you today. Our warranty will cover the lock and repair or replace it for you for no charge. We will need your contact information and serial # of your safe. Thanks.

3-spoke SURETIGHT handle Problems
written by FARGO on April 10, 2013
Love the safe, should have gotten a bigger one.

However the 3-spoke SURETIGHT handle is not very tight, in fact is it very loose. I can no longer open the safe to get anything out. The handle just spins round and round.

If someone could help me out with this that would be great.
Liberty's Response:
Yes John, we will have someone contact you today. Sounds like the slip clutch is loose. Most likely we would send out a locksmith to look at the mechanism and adjust. Thanks for letting us know and tell us again how the service goes. 

locking system
written by Gary on April 9, 2013
Spent $1600.00 and waited 92 days. Took a day off work. Removed door, moved furniture. Safe arrived. Combination would not allow delivery personel to show me how it opened. Delivery crew had opened safes upon delivery with other manufacturers. Delivery personel informed me this is the second Liberty safe that wouldn't open in a week. Went through a battery on my cordless phone waiting for customer service at Liberty. NOT A HAPPY LIBERTY SAFE OWNER. I bought it but still don't have it. Seems Liberty is putting out a large quanity of safes, but forgot the QUALITY of their product.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks for letting us know Gary. We don't blame you for being upset. We will make every effort to get you taken care of. Every once in a while we'll have a lock issue with a few of our safes. It could be a mis-set combo or an issue with the lock. We'll have our locksmith's either fix it or we'll replace it. Our guarantee is that we will stand behind your safe and get you taken care of as quickly as possible. We appologize for the inconvenience. We'll stay in touch until resolved.

Door stuck
written by Mike H on March 12, 2013
I got my safe delivered this past Saturday. Reset factory comb on the electronic lock. Worked fine with door open. closed and secured a couple of times no probs. Insured safe was level, now the door is stuck. Outer wheel turns but door will not open. This is my first high end safe. I am a cop, my duty weapon is in the safe and I can't get it open. Good times. I would not recommend this safe for anyone, especially if you store tools of your trade inside
Liberty's Response:

Just received your rating and review Mike. I’ll copy Evan and see what we can do to get your safe open ASAP. Thanks for letting us know. This is the last thing we want to have happen.


written by SAM on December 22, 2012
CAN NOT RATE OR RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT UNTIL I AM ABLE TO USE IT. RIGHT NOW THE COMBINATION WILL NOT WORK BECAUSE THE KEY WILL NOT UNLOCK THE TUMBLAR.
Liberty's Response:

We are having Dan Moore contact you regarding your combination dial. If need be we will send out a locksmith to your home for no charge to resolve the issue. Every once in awhile we might have issues where we need to make adjustments after the safe ships. But that's why we extend our lock warranty to 5 years. Thanks for letting us know Sam


UPDATE on January 10, 2013: We contacted Sam and he let us know everything is working great with his combination and very happy with the safe. Thanks for the update Sam. Enjoy your FATBOY 64!




*Made in the U.S.A. from U.S. and Global Parts.