Accessory: Security and Care

NOTE: Factory installed accessories and options are subject to specification changes/upgrades without notification.
Customer Ratings and Reviews (156)
NEW FEATURE!
Customer Star Rating
Save your money
written by BRAD
October 21, 2014
I bought 4 of these. Constant signal loss, when the router modem is less than 6 feet away, false alarms dozens of times, they told me to turn the lights off in the safe, so I removed them completely and they still claim to be set off with dim light in the safe. Pitch black room, no light so there has to be a problem. No problems with my equipment compatibility, support has been in touch, but they offer no real help. I get false signals for movement, door open and loss of internet signal daily. EVERY SINGLE DAY, and support just doesn't really have any answers. Save your money.
I should have.
Liberty's Response:
Let's take a look at exchanging for a new unit and see if that solves the problem. We'll send you an email to see what other solutions can be.
Customer Star Rating
A great addition....
written by NoWorries
October 20, 2014
A Liberty safe is a wonderful device for peace of mind. A Liberty safe that communicates key indicators is the absolute best. Set up went smooth (early 2014). The response time experienced is near instantaneous - it seems my phone goes off before I have the door all the way open. Although the safe is bolted down, the movement alarm will still go off if you get rough with it - I gave a demo to an interested friend and my son texted me, asking if I was playing with the safe again because he was also getting the alarm texts. This years vacation (out of the country) seemed a lot more relaxing - set up a close friend to receive movement and high temperature alarms with instructions to NOT check on the house, just dial 911 if they got either alarm. No alarms and a great vacation. This was a great addition.
Customer Star Rating
Erroneous movement alerts
written by Washington Irving
October 20, 2014
Great idea and works great. Had issue with door open and closed alerts but found my light would turn on then off for some reason in the safe and trigger the alerts, so this is an issue with the light. Now I'm getting movement alerts. Several came when I was home and knew they were false. My neighbor was good enough to check the perimeter of the house when I was not home and those alerts proved false also. I've had this for a year or more and the movement alerts started about 2 weeks ago so the unit has worked great until then.
Liberty's Response:
We'll have Elertus contact you on your false reads. Thanks for letting us know.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Product!
written by Rob
October 20, 2014
I have my safe located in my basement and my Linksys Router on my second floor. I have not had any problems with wireless transmission. The device is supper sensitive and rapidly sends notice of vibration or disturbance of the safe.

Keep up the good work!
Customer Star Rating
Can't setup my unit with new router!!!
written by Brett
October 15, 2014
I had this unit since June & worked great!! Then I had to buy a new router & this will not let me set up at all. I'm really pissed that my 200 dollar device has become a paper weight. I'm using a net gear router & shouldn't have any problems connecting but it simply won't
Liberty's Response:

Sorry you are having issues with your router. We're going to have Elertus contact you to determine the issue. There aren't very many situations that we can't resolve. Then, if it doesn’t work we’ll refund your money. We want to make sure you’re satisfied.

UPDATED REVIEW: October 21, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Service
Elertus called me on Friday & said to use Firefox instead of Safari browser & that did the trick. Not sure why because I used Safari the first time I set it up & worked fine. Anyway everything is back to normal again.

Thanks,
Brett
Customer Star Rating
Works as advertised!
written by Damanifesto
October 13, 2014
Setup could be easier, but once I got it going it works like a charm.

Unit sensors work well and it communicates with my wireless router across the house. I've had no problems with reception.
Customer Star Rating
better than expected features and performance
written by 55chevyman
October 13, 2014
I was apprehensive as to the signal that this would generate being inside the safe and having my router on the other end of the house.
It worked perfectly w/o any additional antenna's and has a better consistent connection than my 9 mo. old laptop.
Only operator problem was that I shut the PC down while away for the weekend and I kept getting communication error messages sent to my email. OPERATOR ERROR/PROBLEM!!
I love it.
Customer Star Rating
False Alarm!
written by Oliver
October 11, 2014
Works great after install I tested everything and it was very accurate. Now after a few weeks I was at work and got a door open alarm at 03:30am was going to call police but then received a door closed at 03:37am. I had already left work to rush home only to find no problems. Hope this does not continue when on vacation local Police will not like someone crying wolf.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks for letting us know Oliver. If it continues, call our customer service arm at Elertus at 801-657-5352 (Ext. 1)
Customer Star Rating
best idea ever
written by pennywise
October 6, 2014
I wish our government could solve problems as efficiently as safealert. pennywise
Customer Star Rating
Works great!!
written by JJ
October 6, 2014
I had to call Elertus to help with the installation. Problem with my wireless-not theirs. Got it going and it is amazing. Only problem so far is the Velcro on the unit let go and the unit fell inside the safe , sending me a movement text. I just sat it on the shelf.
Customer Star Rating
works great
written by Rick
October 6, 2014
I've had this system for half a year now and I am very happy with it.

My safe is located in my finished basement and, as such, in order to get the best function I added a repeater router downstairs. This, along with use of the external antenna, has given me excellent results. A side bonus is that my daughter, who lives in the basement, now has fantastic internet service for her computer and electronic toys ;)

Safealert works very well, alerting me every time I open the door and even a time or two when my Grandkids were playing with the handle on the safe. I also like the new humidity alerts.

I highly recommend this produce to every gun safe owner who has WiFi in their home.
Customer Star Rating
Works exactly as advertised!
written by AvgSO
September 29, 2014
What a great product. Easy to install and setup. Works every single time there is an "event". Barely touch the safe and you get a notice :-) Also love being able to send a message based on thresholds, etc.

I wouldn't own a safe without this device and recommend it to all my friends :-)
Customer Star Rating
Weak signal a trend?
written by JRdaSconnie
September 29, 2014
I'm on my second elert unit right now. First was replaced by Elertus CS after they said the one I received had a problem. It seems like it has the same issue many of you have had with low reception. I do not intend to get a WiFi extender as I'm sitting right next to the safe as I write this review on my Droid, running on my home network. Maybe Elertus needs to work on improving the reception quality of their units. Safes are often in the basement, which is not where many people place their router. Fix that issue and it should be a good product.
Liberty's Response:
That's no good JR. There are a couple of types of wifi routers that don't work well with our SafElert. We will be in contact to see if we can get this resolved. The antenae will generally allow you the ability to place your unit anywhere in the house. My safe is in my basement and the connection is just great. Hopefully we can come up with a solution.
Customer Star Rating
Randy's Fatboy
written by Randy's Fatboy
September 22, 2014
I have had the SafeAlert for several months now. The initial set up was simple and I had it working in no time at all. Only issue I had was the internet connection. I had to get a wifi extender to make the system work without getting the lost internet connection alert. My safe was too far away from my wifi connection and the external attena wouldn't help. A $35.00 add on but the SafeAlert works great now. Very happy with it. I did get a movement alert once and I thought this was a false alert until I found out that we just had a 3.0 earthquake so it worked fine. The SafeAlert did what it was designed to do, it moved and it told me about it. Works great.
Customer Star Rating
Great piece of mind
written by garylees
September 20, 2014
Works as advertised. Easy set up. Buying another for my 2ND safe!
Customer Star Rating
Disappointed
written by Chuck from Texas
September 15, 2014
I purchased a Liberty Lincoln safe, and one of the selling points was "It comes with a SAFELERT".

I read the instructions, watched the set-up video, and installed the SAFELERT. I tested it per the instructions, and it worked. It worked one time, THEN FAILED.

Following the instructions, the antenna connection was checked, the batteries were removed, checked for proper voltage, re-installed, and set-up performed again. IT FAILED AGAIN. The next day I called the Elertus tech line. A nice employee informed me that SAFELERT will not work on the Verizon FIOS system. This would have been nice to know prior to purchasing the Liberty Lincoln safe.

I would not recommend this product as I feel I have been burned.
Liberty's Response:
Chuck,
Thanks for your review. We understand your frustration with the incompatibility with the Verizon FiOS router. If we could fix it...we would. This is something that is mentioned on the SafElert page of our website, aside from that...there isn't much more we can do to get the word out. Send us an email marketing@libertysafe.com and we will exchange your SafElert for another accessory. We want you to be happy. Your Lincoln is a great safe!
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Allegheny
September 11, 2014
The Safelert Monitoring System has been working nicely for me for about 2 months. The software configuration options offer a nice variety. I especially like the ability to receive email for some alerts and text messages for others and both if I want both. I would like the option to add a sensor to tell if the door is closed and locked and a phone app to check if it is closed and locked. Overall, a very nice product!
Customer Star Rating
Don't trigger on time
written by Robber
September 8, 2014
It will let you know after you get in safe, by then it's too late. Not to happy in performance with unit. Too much lag time.
Liberty's Response:
Robber,
Thanks for the feedback. This is not common feedback for the SafElert. There are a lot of factors that could be affecting the response time, such as your mobile plan, wifi connection, etc. We will be in contact to see how we can get this resolved and responding within the typical 30-second window.
Customer Star Rating
Traveling with confidence!!
written by Worried Traveler No More
September 8, 2014
Just got my Safelert two weeks ago, the peace of mind of being able to go out of town for a day or two knowing I have this additional layer of protection is incredible. Wish it would have been around ten years ago.

Thanks for a great idea and product.
Customer Star Rating
SafElert is a great product
written by Keith C S
September 8, 2014
I set it up initially with no problems. Then I got to experimenting with placement of it within the safe. The best place is where they TELL you to mount it, which is near the upper door hinge. I did not need the accessory antenna, and my wireless router is halfway across the house, behind several walls about thirty feet away.

One morning (I discovered a few hours later) that it had alerted at 2:51 AM and again at 5:07 AM. I had no clue what that was about unless the cats had been dancing on top of the safe. However, upon opening the safe the unit had fallen and was laying on the top shelf. "D'OH!" My "experimenting" with several placements earlier had deteriorated the glue of the Velcro. I guess the first alert from the unit was when it began to suddenly "sag" off the safe's sidewall, the the second alert was when it had actually fallen a few inches to the upper shelf. A new piece of Velcro backing was installed to fix it.

This is a great product and would provide extra peace of mind if one is traveling. You could be alerted wherever you are and then phone your local police to go to your house and grab a burglar or two. Hee! Gotta love that.

I would not have initially utilized this device if it were not offered free with the purchase of the Lincoln LZ50, but I am now seriously considering PURCHASING a second one for an older safe we have.

If you are thinking about the SafElert, my personal opinion, for what it is worth, is go ahead and get one. It is actually a valuable asset that adds to your home security and peace of mind.
UPDATED REVIEW: September 22, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Follow Up with Review
I wrote a previous review, a few posts below. Since then the Elertus device has reported a few "Loss of Internet" situations. This situation has also been reported by other reviewers. What is interesting for me is that every signal loss I received was on an exact time of 00, 15, or 30 minutes. During TWO of these reports, I was actually using my wireless router /computer and there was no loss of signal that I detected with the computer usage. In an attempt to check and remedy the issue, I removed the Elertus batteries, waited a minute and reinstalled them. After clearing the "Movement Detected" alert I received from that, I did not receive any more of the "Internet Loss" notifications. If you receive these notices, try removing and reinstalling the batteries. Again, I was on my computer for TWO of the "LOSS" notices, so I feel confident that the signal was NOT actually lost. I have not received any more "LOSS" notifications, and this is now more than a week since the issue. Could this really be an issue with an internal product "glitch"? Keith C S, Arizona
Customer Star Rating
Continued Fasle Text Messages
written by Dave M
September 8, 2014
I have had the device for several months and I have no faith in it. I am continually receiving text telling me it has sensed movement when nothing has moved and also constant text telling me it has lost internet connection, four times last night. I have been on the internet several times when I have received text telling me it has lost connection. My phone bill has gone up six to seven dollars a month from all the false text messages.
Liberty's Response:
Dave M,
It sounds like you have a connection problem. Generally the antenna will fix this issue. We will contact you to see how we can help.
Customer Star Rating
Der Hammer
written by Der Hammer Von Hubertus
August 29, 2014
I have had my SafeElert system installed for 2 weeks now and it works great with no issues. I love the ability to set the variables for the triggers/mobile app and weekly notice. Gives me a feeling of comfort when I am up at the cabin in the north woods.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Device and Peace of Mind
written by Rick Kelly
August 25, 2014
I received this product for free with my purchase of a Lincoln series safe. I am sure glad I did because I probably wouldn't have purchased one otherwise. Set up was easy and didn't need the external antenna for reception (although it is fairly discreet). The device is awesome and gives you alerts via text and/or email. I can program it to alert family or friends if I am out of town. You also get a weekly status report if you haven't been looking at your app. I like the fact that you can adjust the parameters for temperature and humidity for alerts. You can also choose which alerts you wish to receive and by which method. Not only will I order another for my older safe, but I will definitely recommend this to my family and friends. I even have a free app on my mobile devices which allow me to view the status of my safe and change monitoring parameters is I wish. With everything being free, except the small initial cost of the device, how could you not buy one? Thank you Liberty Safe for a wonderful and complete security system for my firearms and other valuables.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product!
written by Perry
August 25, 2014
Easy to install and works superb! Does everything as listed. When I leave my house for an extended period of time I will go into the website and change my settings to "maximum" activity.
.
Suggestions on those who are having problems:
1). For those that are irritated by the "too often" messages, just lesson the activity on the website until you need more notifications (e.g. door opened).
2). If you have a bad signal, try installing the "external" antenna. The signal has to go through a lot of metal if only transmitted from inside the safe to that could be the problem. Also, a week browser/receiver could be a problem.
.
Great job on all the features and security of this product LIBERTY! :)
Customer Star Rating
Wouldn't be without!
written by Thomas Helms
August 25, 2014
Installed this in my safe about a week ago and now I don't know how I went so long without it! Works flawlessly! Absolutely best money I've spent for piece of mind! I haven't had even one false alarm or problem. Highly recommended to anyone who has anything to loose if someone broke into or messed with their safe.
Customer Star Rating
Exceptional product
written by Easyam
August 18, 2014
This system has become indispensable. It works flawlessly and was very simple to install. I now feel secure when away. I would recommend this device to my friends, family and anyone that owns a gun safe. It does exactly what it promises to do.
Customer Star Rating
Liberty Safe is SAFE
written by DRAK7
August 18, 2014
In the last two months that I have had the Safe Alert product installed, it has functioned flawlessly. I have noted other customers comments on false motion alerts and have had NO false alerts. The motion sensor is VERY sensitive and will trigger if I slap the side of the safe with my open hand, which I did to see what it might take to get a motion alert. Better too sensitive than not sensitive enough.
Customer Star Rating
Good hardware, needs work on the soft side
written by Chris
August 16, 2014
I have two of these, one with the antenna extension and both work well. When will Elertus update the Liberty offering to support multiple devices with one email address?

The android app hasn't been updated since December, their own branded version was updated in May and those extra features would be nice in the Liberty flavor app.

Like the hardware, needs some work on the software side.
Liberty's Response:
The capability to monitor multiple devices on the same app/account is coming soon! Like tomorrow soon. You should see an email from SafElert with additional details of how to make it work. 
Customer Star Rating
Works Great!
written by Feeling Safe
August 13, 2014
I would recommend this system to everyone, It works great, is easy to install and is affordable for everyone.
Customer Star Rating
Great piece of mind.
written by Gungeezer
August 11, 2014
I bought this unit and installed it as per the instructions. For the first few days I got "door open alerts" several times a day. I reset the unit and still had the problem. I started thinking, I have the motion activated lights that came with my Liberty Safe. I put a camera inside the safe set on light activation. Sure enough, the camera caught the lights mysteriously coming on causing the false door open alerts. I turned the lights on manual and my alerts disappeared. The only time I get an alert now is when the door is actually opened.

I would highly recommended this unit to anyone. It has made me feel much more secure in knowing I will be notified if my safe is tampered with when I'm away from home.
Customer Star Rating
Works great!
written by John Wesson
August 4, 2014
So far this product has worked with no false alarms. Safelert gives me peace of mind when I'm not around. I also like that you can send alert messages to other people if you are out of town. I would buy this item again.
Customer Star Rating
GREAT IDEA
written by Larry
August 4, 2014
After some trial and error, the Safelert Monitoring System has settled down and works very well. Had to reposition the unit from the sidewall as shown in the setup instructions to setting on the top shelf and secured to the sidewall. Also, even with the external antenna, low signal strength from the internal transmitter, required the addition of a web extender, located on an adjacent wall to obtain solid communications with my in-home network. Technical staff service was excellent!
Customer Star Rating
Works great!
written by Rick
July 28, 2014
This product works great and does everything it says it is supposed to do. I really like it and can see how this gadget can have many, many uses.

One small issue is that when my wifi goes down for any reason and for any length of time (power failure from thunder storms etc) I have to manually reconnect my safElert to the internet :( It would be nice if it could reconnect automatically.

Also, my family has named my gunsafe Safewekwaa and accuses me of checking up on it more often then I do my own wife and children. ;) I love the smart phone app....

I highly recommend this product to anyone who has an area they want to monitor efficiently.
Customer Star Rating
It's been 6 weeks and................
written by mini14gb
July 23, 2014
Everything is working well. Have not had any false alerts at all!!
Customer Star Rating
Peace of mind!
written by Lanmic
July 22, 2014
Product easy to install and setup. Provides information that allows for consistence supervision and peace of mind. Thanks for the additional benefit!
Customer Star Rating
I caught you !!!
written by Rick O.
July 14, 2014
Installed the Safelert and it has worked every time. I opened the safe myself and got phone calls from the people I have it programmed to receive alerts, two people came to investigate the alert, so now I send them notifications before I enter the safe. It is one additional safety feature everyone should have. Since my purchase, even the dealer has installed Safelert on his safe.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Chris
July 14, 2014
What a great product. Does exactly what it says it does. Very east to set up. At first i was getting a bunch of false reports sent, but i moved the unit to where they said you should put it, (in the upper right corner) and it immediately started to work perfectly.

I would love to see an iPad app in the future, and the option of setting it up to a security monitoring service. That being said, i'm buying two more.
Liberty's Response:
Just FYI, there is an app for the SafElert in the Apple store to use on your iPad. Just look up "Liberty SafElert" in the Apple store.
Customer Star Rating
Works Great no problems
written by TJ
July 14, 2014
I think the Safelert is a great product. I have been testing it out for about 6 months and have found that it works great.

Customer Star Rating
Starting to get false movement alerts
written by Jim B.
July 11, 2014
I've had this unit for about a year with no problems. However, recently I've started getting false movement alerts almost on a daily basis. Is there a sensitivy adjustment on this unit?

Thank you,
Jim B.
Liberty's Response:
There is no way to adjust the sensitivity, my guess is that something has changed with the strength of connection to the wifi...are you using the antenne? email kent@elertus.com for additional support. We will get you taken care of.
Customer Star Rating
great product and good value
written by David
July 8, 2014
Purchased 4 months ago. Setup took 15 minutes. Weekly auto reports are reassuring too.
Customer Star Rating
Additional use for this product
written by Tom
July 7, 2014
This is a fantastic product that works as promised. I did not put it inside my safe but have it in the room where the safe is located. That way I am monitoring both the room and the safe for any unknown activity. Works great!
Customer Star Rating
LOVE this product!
written by Georgia Tom
June 30, 2014
This device works incredibly well. I love the fact that you can tailor the alerts to specific event(s), and select an e-mail and / or a text message alert for each.

And, the iOS (iPhone) app is great - nice clean interface, and a way to keep tabs on your safe's internal temperature and humidity levels any time you want!

Highly recommended!!!
Customer Star Rating
Best invention
written by Ali
June 23, 2014
I just love it. Very accurate, easy to manage and I would recommend it to everybody.
Customer Star Rating
Awesome Product
written by Houston Sailor
June 23, 2014
Awesomeawesomeawesomeawesomeawesome...!
Customer Star Rating
Nice idea but...
written by Tony B.
June 19, 2014
I gave 2 stars because of the reviews I have read and my experience with this product has been less than expected.

Set up was a no brainer, very easy and all was working in less then 10 minutes.

I set the unit in my safe and shut the door. I immediately received a door closed alert and I was excited to see this and thought this is a cool product. But then I received about 25 more alerts in a row; both open and close door alerts and a couple of movement alerts. I thought okay just a fluke and this will stop and all would be well. Nope not a chance! Every time I opened or closed the door to test the unit I get 25 or more alerts. Very annoying to say the least.

Then I decided to just leave it alone and see how things went with the unit. Every 10-15 minutes I get open and close door alerts and a couple of movement alerts. Again very annoying to say the least.

I was going to give 1 star but since this is a great idea for a product I decided 2 was appropriate just for the effort in coming up with the idea and trying to produce a working unit.

A product like this is a great idea and the free monitoring is real cool. Better yet is the willingness to give a refund to this who have previously paid for monitoring. But these things do not excuse the fact that in these reviews so many people have problems right out of the box. Dependability and reliability on a product like this are very important. Again, nice idea but if you cannot dependent or it or it is not reliable what good is it? In my opinion a product like this should not be released tot he public until all testing can conclude that it will work as advertised right out of the box.

I think people buy this product with that expectation and then way too many have problems and this gets people annoyed and mad. Then the product is jus thrown tot he side or alerts are shut off and it becomes useless.

That is the case with mine as of right now. I have hut off the alerts and it is sitting on my desk. I am not sure what to do with it for now.

My suggestion to the company is recall them and do more testing and maybe get more reliable parts supplier, then release an update dependable model to the public.

Thanks for allowing me to voice my opinion and I hope to have a working unit some time in the future.

Liberty's Response:
Tony,
It sounds like your are needing some "technical support". We will be in contact to get you taken care of. These issues are generally solved very easily and we should have your device functioning as it should in no time.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Product
written by MojoMax2014
June 16, 2014
Although most of us have bought a safe for that little extra piece of mind to know that our valuables are safe while away from home, this product further enhances that piece of mind. I have recommended this to several friends and family members and most have already purchased theirs and love it as well. I can't believe something so simple can make a person feel a little more at ease; especially those who had to learn the hard way before purchasing a safe to begin with.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent product
written by RamMan75
June 16, 2014
The system was very easy to set up and install in my Liberty Lincoln 25 safe. Notifies me every time of openings, closing, vibration, and temp, and humidity level in safe through the phone app. Or on my pc. Great product, especially love the free lifetime monitoring service with my purchase.
Customer Star Rating
Lee
written by Kilroy
June 16, 2014
The initial attempt to setup was a nightmare. I found my 10Mbps download & .75Mbps internet speed will not work with this alarm. Six hours of trying and I gave up. I decided to wait because I planned changing my internet to 30Mbps download & 8Mbps upload system. As soon as this change was made setup took just a few minutes. Unfortunately, I too had a false alarm one time a few days after the setup and I was not near home at the time. I suspect something might possibly have shifted inside to trigger the alarm. It only occurred the one time. If this doesn't become a habit as it has for other I've read about great. I open, close, or move the safe at all I will have three texts & emails within about a minute. The whole idea behind this alarm is terrific along with the warning label. Ideally it will be a moot point and never become a real necessity.
Customer Star Rating
Works great and as per design
written by RJ
June 9, 2014
I bought one because my liberty safe would not fit in my house with my other safe so I had to leave it in the garage. It works as it should and notifies me when my wife tries to borrow(steal) money from my safe. I have noticed that being away from my wireless internet I had to use the antenna. I like that fact that while I'm away I know if someone attempts to get in my safe. I receive text alerts within seconds of vibration or the door opening and closing.

I would recommend this to anyone!
Customer Star Rating
Works as advertised
written by Il-Tim
June 9, 2014
It was very easy to set-up. Once completed it has worked as advertised. I have a second safe on the way and will be purchasing another.
View More »