Accessory: Security and Care

NOTE: Factory installed accessories and options are subject to specification changes/upgrades without notification.
Customer Ratings and Reviews (192)
NEW FEATURE!
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by BM
January 26, 2015
I installed this and it works perfect. This is a great product and tells you everything on your computer, cell phone and I pad.
Customer Star Rating
Great
written by Jason from Wisconsin
January 26, 2015
The unit is easy to program, and the alerts are just what a person needs to feel confident there things are well protected.
Customer Star Rating
A+ Safealert A+++ Customer Service
written by JJ
January 19, 2015
Set it up and worked perfectly right away. A week ago I was not receiving texts to my personal cell phone when safe was open\closed. However messages were still being received by my e-mail and work cell. Contacted Safealert and talked with a wonderful representative who told me that the system was working and it was sending out the alerts. It was concluded that it was a problem with my cell phone provider. Called my provider and the issue was fixed. The product is awesome and the customer service is even better. Thank You!
Customer Star Rating
Peace of Mind When I Travel
written by Mark, Greenville, SC
January 19, 2015
Purchased my Liberty safe from my local dealer back in July. Installed the monitor and set my alert requirements. Has worked perfectly. Thanks Liberty!
Customer Star Rating
Eases Your Worries
written by Ken Wayne
January 14, 2015
Installed unit Jan. 9th. Works fine, but have had several false alerts, especially lost communications. Checked unit, found that the antenna had fallen off. Reconnected antenna and unit worked fine for several days. Now same problem again. Will recheck antenna.
Customer Star Rating
Safe alert awesome
written by womaa
January 12, 2015
The safe alert is an awesome device. It notifies me every time door is open or safe is jarred. I also like the weekly update. I plan on getting more of these for my ammo safe and my personal safe.
Customer Star Rating
Great product
written by Pat
January 12, 2015
I love this device. If the door opens, I get a text within 11 seconds.
Customer Star Rating
Works awesome
written by Larry L.
January 12, 2015
My Safelert works excellent all the time. I followed the instructions and it performed just like they said it would.....thanks
Customer Star Rating
Exceeds expectations
written by MontanaBighorn
January 12, 2015
While there are features I would be willing to pay more to have, for what this is it's great! Inexpensive security; very good value!
Customer Star Rating
Got it with rebate
written by Hoosier 99
January 9, 2015
It works great! Such a neat idea, and it's perfectly reliable for me, and easy, easy to set up and get going. Highly recommended.
Customer Star Rating
I like it but, wish
written by Bigben
January 5, 2015
I like it a lot but wish two things,

1 it had a built in camera that takes a pic every time the door is opened and emails it to me.

2. There were recommendations of what to set the humidity and temperature alarms at for both, black guns and wood stock guns in the setup pages, to aid in setup.

Also I phone and I pad app would be good to ping and instantly check conditions and access the much needed camera.
Customer Star Rating
Good Enough For Me! !
written by Aloha from Hawaii
January 4, 2015
From what I have read of all the reviews, it seams as though the unit, for the most part, works great. For those who's unit does not function correctly, outside of those who's service is incompatible, a Liberty Safe rep has responded to all complaints and engaged the client, promising a call for customer service or replacement of the unit. Between the many 5 star reviews and customer service, this is a no brainer.....props to whomever is responding to these reviews and complaints,...now that's how customer service is done!!! Count me as another 5 star review even before I ordered MY unit.
Customer Star Rating
new router
written by ladyluck
December 31, 2014
I had to get a new router. Now i get a lost internet every hour and 15 min. I don't know how to set it up to the new router.
Customer Star Rating
Working as advertised
written by Lake City Kid
December 29, 2014
Received my Safelert and installed with no problems or issues on both my Windows PC and IOS 8 phone. I found I needed to use the antenna extension after I got a couple of lost connection messages. Since putting on the extension I have had no issues.
Customer Star Rating
Peace of Mind
written by Cueball
December 22, 2014
Safelert has been working great for two months now. The response time is excellent. I receive an alert seconds after I open the door.
Customer Star Rating
Works great!
written by Me
December 22, 2014
Setup was easy. The antenna was a must. It provides surety since i travel often.
Customer Star Rating
works well
written by LL
December 22, 2014
I have alerts set for my cell phone and its a great system. I know when the door opens and closes.

I'd like to see the weekly report provided to my email include historic data that summarizes how many times the door was opened and closed and how many times the safe moved. Anyway to compile and report that data?
Customer Star Rating
False Door Open Alarms
written by crow
December 17, 2014
I like the idea, and the setup was easy, but it keeps giving me door open alerts, even in the middle of the night. My safe is literally within arms reach so I know it's not open. Other than that it's ok. I had to turn off the door open alerts which was the main reason I wanted Safelert.......
Liberty's Response:
Sounds like maybe there is a weak wifi signal...we will be in touch to see if we can get it working as it should. 
Customer Star Rating
It seems to be doing it's job - very well!!
written by Larry.
December 16, 2014
I have used Safelert about 4 months. Placing it in the safe and linking to the router took about 15 minutes. The configuration options through the website are nice! The text message to my phone each time the door is opened is great. The weekly status report including temperature, humidity and battery keeps me informed and lets me know if there is a problem. I highly recommend this tool.

At first, it was constantly giving me false alerts for door open/closed detection and intermittently drop signal from my router. I've moved it everywhere inside and outside the safe with the same results. For the last 2 or 3 weeks it seems to have settled down, and appears to be working great. I really like how you can control everything from an app on your phone.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent
written by Woodwalker
December 15, 2014
Very easy install and is working great.
Customer Star Rating
works awesome for me
written by blake
December 8, 2014
Works great. Sends alerts to my phone when the door is opened, closed, or even moved. Keeps me informed of the humidity, temperature and status of the battery. Everything works great and haven't had any problems with it. I really like how you can control everything from an app on your phone. The only problem I've had with it was getting it from the supplier in Tampa. Took 2 to 3 weeks to get in and had to keep calling them or I wouldnt have got it. I'm glad I stayed on top of it and got one. It is definitely worth the peace of mind.
Customer Star Rating
Thumbs Up!
written by SteveS
December 8, 2014
Easy to install. Works reliably. It was the first application to warn me that my internet connection was down recently!
Customer Star Rating
Very pleased with Safelert
written by Allegheny
December 8, 2014
I have used Safelert about 4 months. The install in the safe and linking to the router took about 15 minutes. The configuration options through the website are great! Very impressive product that does what it promises. The text message to my phone each time the door is opened is very handy when more than one person has access to the safe. The weekly status report including temperature, humidity and battery keeps me informed and lets me know if there is a problem. I highly recommend this tool.
Customer Star Rating
monitoring system
written by sam
December 1, 2014
Easy to install and works very good.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Gary C.
November 24, 2014
Product works great. My weekly "check in" alert just notified me the battery is at 90%.
Hoping I do not need to go through setup again when I change the battery - any comments?
Liberty's Response:
You will not need to go through the setup again. It will reconnect when batteries are re-installed. 
Customer Star Rating
SafElert = Peace of Mind for me
written by HK Diver
November 24, 2014
I love this product, it really gives me peace of mind with all of my firearms in the safe.
That being said, I modified my install slightly.

I used paperclips to mount the SafElert so the door bolts would just touch it when closing and locking the safe. This triggers the salfe open / closed / locked every time.

I suggest Liberty link to, or provide information as you can determine at the Dew Point Calculator website. If you are not familiar, you can calculate whether your specific temp/humidity are safe for your valuables...
http://www.dpcalc.org/

I think this would be an AWESOME bit of information to add to the weekly emails!
Customer Star Rating
Safety and peace of mind
written by Mylpita
November 24, 2014
When I purchased the safelert I was unsure of what to expect. It was extremely easy to set up and start getting emails and texts about what was going on. Just got my first weekly update on status of temp.,humidity and the door. This thing is gonna give me peace of mind when I'm not there.
Customer Star Rating
Very satisfied
written by Very Satisfied Customer
November 24, 2014
I can't begin to tell you how pleased I am with SAFELERT. We spend a great deal of time away from home. Every time I have opened the safe I receive an alert within seconds. I also like the weekly report. It tells us everything we need to know. Money well spent for the piece of mind.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Jim R.
November 18, 2014
Works as advertised. Installation and set up was very easy and went just as directed. The sensor seems to be functioning as it is supposed to. It has been installed for 4 days and the only issue seems to be one or two "Lost Internet Connections" alerts each day. When I check with my cell phone the time on the status report is later than the lost connection report. I don't know if the lost connection report was false or if the connection was reestablished after it was lost. It would be helpful if a "Internet Connection Established" message with a time stamp was sent. Other than that it seems to be a great product so far.
UPDATED REVIEW: November 24, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Update to Previous Review
Things seem to have settled down. No more lost Internet connection reports for the past week. The weekly status reports are arriving. It is a really great accessory.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Jeff
November 18, 2014
Setup was less than 30 minutes. I was getting email alerts but I had problems getting text alerts. It turned out to be a setting on my wireless account (Verizon) that blocked texts from the Internet. Once that got corrected everything was perfect.
Customer Star Rating
Extremely happy with Elertus
written by 55chevyman
November 10, 2014
I purchased my Lincoln safe several months ago and installed the Elertus shortly after. I have read comments both pro & con about the alarm, but I have had nothing but great success.

It is operating at the opposite end of my house from where my router is, and working perfectly w/o a antenna.
The only caution, DO NOT SHUT DOWN YOUR COMPUTER!!

This may seem ridiculous, but when I am away, I shut down everything. This caused the alarm to keep sending me messages that it could not connect. Da
Customer Star Rating
ELERTUS service discontinued due to aggravations
written by Keith C S, AZ
October 28, 2014
I have made several posts here. After a long period of ongoing problems such as connection failures (with antenna in use and with moving / repositioning my wireless modem per ELERTUS), mysterious low battery warnings (with good / replaced batteries), plus going around with customer service on turning off features in my computer, I have become aggravated and encumbered by all the issues and have had ELERTUS shut down my account so I no longer receive any alerts. My account is now permanently terminated. By the way, you have to phone in to customer service for this, as by using email and accessing your account that way, they do NOT give you an option via that method to shut down your account. This ELERTUS product, for me anyway, was not a good feature and I will not miss the problems. ELERTUS is a good idea, but it just didn't work and I don't even want to hear about trying another new one.
Customer Star Rating
Safelert works!
written by Todd from TX
October 28, 2014
Dear Brandon/Liberty Safe Warranty Dept:

Our home was burglarized the evening of September 9th, 2014, the day we left for vacation to Southern California. I received a text message that movement was detected through my Safelert inside my Presidential safe at approximately 8:30 pm that evening.

I promptly called my neighbors who responded by checking the house immediately. Apparently the neighbors quick response scared off the would be thieves prior to them being able to steal anything or even cause significant damage to my safe.

I have filed a report with the County Sheriff's Office. Since the damage to my home only amounted to the Liberty Safe (apparent) surface level damage and the glass door that the thieves broke through to enter the home, a claim has not been filed.

Thank you in advance for your efforts. Safelert truly saved me from additional loss/damages!

Todd
Customer Star Rating
Motions Sensor Keeps Going Off
written by Steve B
October 27, 2014
I've had this sensor for about 2 months now. It constantly gives false alerts for motion detection. I've moved it everywhere inside and out side the safe with the same results. It's sitting in my closet now.
Liberty's Response:

Thanks for letting us know Steve. We will have Elertus contact you today to diagnose your issues. If need be we will replace the unit. It shouldn't be send false reads.

Customer Star Rating
Stupid antenna
written by Jason J
October 26, 2014
I got my safelert 2 weeks ago and I just sat it on the top shelf to test it out and it seems to work well except for it will intermittently drop signal from my router. No problem I thought, ill just use the antenna and 4 ft extension it came with. Only problem is in order to install it in the recommended location in the top right corner, and then run the antenna down to the power outlet antenna pass thru hole, and then up the back of the safe to get the antenna to connect to the router would require 2 more 4ft extensions on my safe.... and I refuse to just run a wire out of the front of the safe and have that ugly thing be visible. I have tried putting the safelert unit near on the floor of the safe, doesn't work. I a beautiful Liberty safe built into a shelving unit and do not want to see a wire hanging out through the door gap. Bad design on the antenna extension.... it needs to come in different lengths for taller safes if the pass thru hole is all the way at the bottom and the safelert unit needs to be at the top right to work properly. I assume I can just connect multiple antenna extensions together??? How can I get two more 4 ft sections?
Liberty's Response:
Is the antenna hooked up and sticking out the back through the outlet kit and it still doesn't work? We need to call you and discuss.
Customer Star Rating
Save your money
written by BRAD
October 21, 2014
I bought 4 of these. Constant signal loss, when the router modem is less than 6 feet away, false alarms dozens of times, they told me to turn the lights off in the safe, so I removed them completely and they still claim to be set off with dim light in the safe. Pitch black room, no light so there has to be a problem. No problems with my equipment compatibility, support has been in touch, but they offer no real help. I get false signals for movement, door open and loss of internet signal daily. EVERY SINGLE DAY, and support just doesn't really have any answers. Save your money.
I should have.
Liberty's Response:
Let's take a look at exchanging for a new unit and see if that solves the problem. We'll send you an email to see what other solutions can be.
Customer Star Rating
A great addition....
written by NoWorries
October 20, 2014
A Liberty safe is a wonderful device for peace of mind. A Liberty safe that communicates key indicators is the absolute best. Set up went smooth (early 2014). The response time experienced is near instantaneous - it seems my phone goes off before I have the door all the way open. Although the safe is bolted down, the movement alarm will still go off if you get rough with it - I gave a demo to an interested friend and my son texted me, asking if I was playing with the safe again because he was also getting the alarm texts. This years vacation (out of the country) seemed a lot more relaxing - set up a close friend to receive movement and high temperature alarms with instructions to NOT check on the house, just dial 911 if they got either alarm. No alarms and a great vacation. This was a great addition.
Customer Star Rating
Erroneous movement alerts
written by Washington Irving
October 20, 2014
Great idea and works great. Had issue with door open and closed alerts but found my light would turn on then off for some reason in the safe and trigger the alerts, so this is an issue with the light. Now I'm getting movement alerts. Several came when I was home and knew they were false. My neighbor was good enough to check the perimeter of the house when I was not home and those alerts proved false also. I've had this for a year or more and the movement alerts started about 2 weeks ago so the unit has worked great until then.
Liberty's Response:
We'll have Elertus contact you on your false reads. Thanks for letting us know.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Product!
written by Rob
October 20, 2014
I have my safe located in my basement and my Linksys Router on my second floor. I have not had any problems with wireless transmission. The device is supper sensitive and rapidly sends notice of vibration or disturbance of the safe.

Keep up the good work!
Customer Star Rating
Can't setup my unit with new router!!!
written by Brett
October 15, 2014
I had this unit since June & worked great!! Then I had to buy a new router & this will not let me set up at all. I'm really pissed that my 200 dollar device has become a paper weight. I'm using a net gear router & shouldn't have any problems connecting but it simply won't
Liberty's Response:

Sorry you are having issues with your router. We're going to have Elertus contact you to determine the issue. There aren't very many situations that we can't resolve. Then, if it doesn’t work we’ll refund your money. We want to make sure you’re satisfied.

UPDATED REVIEW: October 21, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Service
Elertus called me on Friday & said to use Firefox instead of Safari browser & that did the trick. Not sure why because I used Safari the first time I set it up & worked fine. Anyway everything is back to normal again.

Thanks,
Brett
Customer Star Rating
Works as advertised!
written by Damanifesto
October 13, 2014
Setup could be easier, but once I got it going it works like a charm.

Unit sensors work well and it communicates with my wireless router across the house. I've had no problems with reception.
Customer Star Rating
better than expected features and performance
written by 55chevyman
October 13, 2014
I was apprehensive as to the signal that this would generate being inside the safe and having my router on the other end of the house.
It worked perfectly w/o any additional antenna's and has a better consistent connection than my 9 mo. old laptop.
Only operator problem was that I shut the PC down while away for the weekend and I kept getting communication error messages sent to my email. OPERATOR ERROR/PROBLEM!!
I love it.
Customer Star Rating
False Alarm!
written by Oliver
October 11, 2014
Works great after install I tested everything and it was very accurate. Now after a few weeks I was at work and got a door open alarm at 03:30am was going to call police but then received a door closed at 03:37am. I had already left work to rush home only to find no problems. Hope this does not continue when on vacation local Police will not like someone crying wolf.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks for letting us know Oliver. If it continues, call our customer service arm at Elertus at 801-657-5352 (Ext. 1)
Customer Star Rating
best idea ever
written by pennywise
October 6, 2014
I wish our government could solve problems as efficiently as safealert. pennywise
Customer Star Rating
Works great!!
written by JJ
October 6, 2014
I had to call Elertus to help with the installation. Problem with my wireless-not theirs. Got it going and it is amazing. Only problem so far is the Velcro on the unit let go and the unit fell inside the safe , sending me a movement text. I just sat it on the shelf.
Customer Star Rating
works great
written by Rick
October 6, 2014
I've had this system for half a year now and I am very happy with it.

My safe is located in my finished basement and, as such, in order to get the best function I added a repeater router downstairs. This, along with use of the external antenna, has given me excellent results. A side bonus is that my daughter, who lives in the basement, now has fantastic internet service for her computer and electronic toys ;)

Safealert works very well, alerting me every time I open the door and even a time or two when my Grandkids were playing with the handle on the safe. I also like the new humidity alerts.

I highly recommend this produce to every gun safe owner who has WiFi in their home.
Customer Star Rating
Works exactly as advertised!
written by AvgSO
September 29, 2014
What a great product. Easy to install and setup. Works every single time there is an "event". Barely touch the safe and you get a notice :-) Also love being able to send a message based on thresholds, etc.

I wouldn't own a safe without this device and recommend it to all my friends :-)
Customer Star Rating
Weak signal a trend?
written by JRdaSconnie
September 29, 2014
I'm on my second elert unit right now. First was replaced by Elertus CS after they said the one I received had a problem. It seems like it has the same issue many of you have had with low reception. I do not intend to get a WiFi extender as I'm sitting right next to the safe as I write this review on my Droid, running on my home network. Maybe Elertus needs to work on improving the reception quality of their units. Safes are often in the basement, which is not where many people place their router. Fix that issue and it should be a good product.
Liberty's Response:
That's no good JR. There are a couple of types of wifi routers that don't work well with our SafElert. We will be in contact to see if we can get this resolved. The antenae will generally allow you the ability to place your unit anywhere in the house. My safe is in my basement and the connection is just great. Hopefully we can come up with a solution.
Customer Star Rating
Randy's Fatboy
written by Randy's Fatboy
September 22, 2014
I have had the SafeAlert for several months now. The initial set up was simple and I had it working in no time at all. Only issue I had was the internet connection. I had to get a wifi extender to make the system work without getting the lost internet connection alert. My safe was too far away from my wifi connection and the external attena wouldn't help. A $35.00 add on but the SafeAlert works great now. Very happy with it. I did get a movement alert once and I thought this was a false alert until I found out that we just had a 3.0 earthquake so it worked fine. The SafeAlert did what it was designed to do, it moved and it told me about it. Works great.
Customer Star Rating
Great piece of mind
written by garylees
September 20, 2014
Works as advertised. Easy set up. Buying another for my 2ND safe!
View More »