Accessory: Security and Care

NOTE: Factory installed accessories and options are subject to specification changes/upgrades without notification.
Customer Ratings and Reviews (175)
NEW FEATURE!
Customer Star Rating
False Door Open Alarms
written by crow
December 17, 2014
I like the idea, and the setup was easy, but it keeps giving me door open alerts, even in the middle of the night. My safe is literally within arms reach so I know it's not open. Other than that it's ok. I had to turn off the door open alerts which was the main reason I wanted Safelert.......
Liberty's Response:
Sounds like maybe there is a weak wifi signal...we will be in touch to see if we can get it working as it should. 
Customer Star Rating
It seems to be doing it's job - very well!!
written by Larry.
December 16, 2014
I have used Safelert about 4 months. Placing it in the safe and linking to the router took about 15 minutes. The configuration options through the website are nice! The text message to my phone each time the door is opened is great. The weekly status report including temperature, humidity and battery keeps me informed and lets me know if there is a problem. I highly recommend this tool.

At first, it was constantly giving me false alerts for door open/closed detection and intermittently drop signal from my router. I've moved it everywhere inside and outside the safe with the same results. For the last 2 or 3 weeks it seems to have settled down, and appears to be working great. I really like how you can control everything from an app on your phone.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent
written by Woodwalker
December 15, 2014
Very easy install and is working great.
Customer Star Rating
works awesome for me
written by blake
December 8, 2014
Works great. Sends alerts to my phone when the door is opened, closed, or even moved. Keeps me informed of the humidity, temperature and status of the battery. Everything works great and haven't had any problems with it. I really like how you can control everything from an app on your phone. The only problem I've had with it was getting it from the supplier in Tampa. Took 2 to 3 weeks to get in and had to keep calling them or I wouldnt have got it. I'm glad I stayed on top of it and got one. It is definitely worth the peace of mind.
Customer Star Rating
Thumbs Up!
written by SteveS
December 8, 2014
Easy to install. Works reliably. It was the first application to warn me that my internet connection was down recently!
Customer Star Rating
Very pleased with Safelert
written by Allegheny
December 8, 2014
I have used Safelert about 4 months. The install in the safe and linking to the router took about 15 minutes. The configuration options through the website are great! Very impressive product that does what it promises. The text message to my phone each time the door is opened is very handy when more than one person has access to the safe. The weekly status report including temperature, humidity and battery keeps me informed and lets me know if there is a problem. I highly recommend this tool.
Customer Star Rating
monitoring system
written by sam
December 1, 2014
Easy to install and works very good.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Gary C.
November 24, 2014
Product works great. My weekly "check in" alert just notified me the battery is at 90%.
Hoping I do not need to go through setup again when I change the battery - any comments?
Liberty's Response:
You will not need to go through the setup again. It will reconnect when batteries are re-installed. 
Customer Star Rating
SafElert = Peace of Mind for me
written by HK Diver
November 24, 2014
I love this product, it really gives me peace of mind with all of my firearms in the safe.
That being said, I modified my install slightly.

I used paperclips to mount the SafElert so the door bolts would just touch it when closing and locking the safe. This triggers the salfe open / closed / locked every time.

I suggest Liberty link to, or provide information as you can determine at the Dew Point Calculator website. If you are not familiar, you can calculate whether your specific temp/humidity are safe for your valuables...
http://www.dpcalc.org/

I think this would be an AWESOME bit of information to add to the weekly emails!
Customer Star Rating
Safety and peace of mind
written by Mylpita
November 24, 2014
When I purchased the safelert I was unsure of what to expect. It was extremely easy to set up and start getting emails and texts about what was going on. Just got my first weekly update on status of temp.,humidity and the door. This thing is gonna give me peace of mind when I'm not there.
Customer Star Rating
Very satisfied
written by Very Satisfied Customer
November 24, 2014
I can't begin to tell you how pleased I am with SAFELERT. We spend a great deal of time away from home. Every time I have opened the safe I receive an alert within seconds. I also like the weekly report. It tells us everything we need to know. Money well spent for the piece of mind.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Jim R.
November 18, 2014
Works as advertised. Installation and set up was very easy and went just as directed. The sensor seems to be functioning as it is supposed to. It has been installed for 4 days and the only issue seems to be one or two "Lost Internet Connections" alerts each day. When I check with my cell phone the time on the status report is later than the lost connection report. I don't know if the lost connection report was false or if the connection was reestablished after it was lost. It would be helpful if a "Internet Connection Established" message with a time stamp was sent. Other than that it seems to be a great product so far.
UPDATED REVIEW: November 24, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Update to Previous Review
Things seem to have settled down. No more lost Internet connection reports for the past week. The weekly status reports are arriving. It is a really great accessory.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Jeff
November 18, 2014
Setup was less than 30 minutes. I was getting email alerts but I had problems getting text alerts. It turned out to be a setting on my wireless account (Verizon) that blocked texts from the Internet. Once that got corrected everything was perfect.
Customer Star Rating
Extremely happy with Elertus
written by 55chevyman
November 10, 2014
I purchased my Lincoln safe several months ago and installed the Elertus shortly after. I have read comments both pro & con about the alarm, but I have had nothing but great success.

It is operating at the opposite end of my house from where my router is, and working perfectly w/o a antenna.
The only caution, DO NOT SHUT DOWN YOUR COMPUTER!!

This may seem ridiculous, but when I am away, I shut down everything. This caused the alarm to keep sending me messages that it could not connect. Da
Customer Star Rating
ELERTUS service discontinued due to aggravations
written by Keith C S, AZ
October 28, 2014
I have made several posts here. After a long period of ongoing problems such as connection failures (with antenna in use and with moving / repositioning my wireless modem per ELERTUS), mysterious low battery warnings (with good / replaced batteries), plus going around with customer service on turning off features in my computer, I have become aggravated and encumbered by all the issues and have had ELERTUS shut down my account so I no longer receive any alerts. My account is now permanently terminated. By the way, you have to phone in to customer service for this, as by using email and accessing your account that way, they do NOT give you an option via that method to shut down your account. This ELERTUS product, for me anyway, was not a good feature and I will not miss the problems. ELERTUS is a good idea, but it just didn't work and I don't even want to hear about trying another new one.
Customer Star Rating
Safelert works!
written by Todd from TX
October 28, 2014
Dear Brandon/Liberty Safe Warranty Dept:

Our home was burglarized the evening of September 9th, 2014, the day we left for vacation to Southern California. I received a text message that movement was detected through my Safelert inside my Presidential safe at approximately 8:30 pm that evening.

I promptly called my neighbors who responded by checking the house immediately. Apparently the neighbors quick response scared off the would be thieves prior to them being able to steal anything or even cause significant damage to my safe.

I have filed a report with the County Sheriff's Office. Since the damage to my home only amounted to the Liberty Safe (apparent) surface level damage and the glass door that the thieves broke through to enter the home, a claim has not been filed.

Thank you in advance for your efforts. Safelert truly saved me from additional loss/damages!

Todd
Customer Star Rating
Motions Sensor Keeps Going Off
written by Steve B
October 27, 2014
I've had this sensor for about 2 months now. It constantly gives false alerts for motion detection. I've moved it everywhere inside and out side the safe with the same results. It's sitting in my closet now.
Liberty's Response:

Thanks for letting us know Steve. We will have Elertus contact you today to diagnose your issues. If need be we will replace the unit. It shouldn't be send false reads.

Customer Star Rating
Stupid antenna
written by Jason J
October 26, 2014
I got my safelert 2 weeks ago and I just sat it on the top shelf to test it out and it seems to work well except for it will intermittently drop signal from my router. No problem I thought, ill just use the antenna and 4 ft extension it came with. Only problem is in order to install it in the recommended location in the top right corner, and then run the antenna down to the power outlet antenna pass thru hole, and then up the back of the safe to get the antenna to connect to the router would require 2 more 4ft extensions on my safe.... and I refuse to just run a wire out of the front of the safe and have that ugly thing be visible. I have tried putting the safelert unit near on the floor of the safe, doesn't work. I a beautiful Liberty safe built into a shelving unit and do not want to see a wire hanging out through the door gap. Bad design on the antenna extension.... it needs to come in different lengths for taller safes if the pass thru hole is all the way at the bottom and the safelert unit needs to be at the top right to work properly. I assume I can just connect multiple antenna extensions together??? How can I get two more 4 ft sections?
Liberty's Response:
Is the antenna hooked up and sticking out the back through the outlet kit and it still doesn't work? We need to call you and discuss.
Customer Star Rating
Save your money
written by BRAD
October 21, 2014
I bought 4 of these. Constant signal loss, when the router modem is less than 6 feet away, false alarms dozens of times, they told me to turn the lights off in the safe, so I removed them completely and they still claim to be set off with dim light in the safe. Pitch black room, no light so there has to be a problem. No problems with my equipment compatibility, support has been in touch, but they offer no real help. I get false signals for movement, door open and loss of internet signal daily. EVERY SINGLE DAY, and support just doesn't really have any answers. Save your money.
I should have.
Liberty's Response:
Let's take a look at exchanging for a new unit and see if that solves the problem. We'll send you an email to see what other solutions can be.
Customer Star Rating
A great addition....
written by NoWorries
October 20, 2014
A Liberty safe is a wonderful device for peace of mind. A Liberty safe that communicates key indicators is the absolute best. Set up went smooth (early 2014). The response time experienced is near instantaneous - it seems my phone goes off before I have the door all the way open. Although the safe is bolted down, the movement alarm will still go off if you get rough with it - I gave a demo to an interested friend and my son texted me, asking if I was playing with the safe again because he was also getting the alarm texts. This years vacation (out of the country) seemed a lot more relaxing - set up a close friend to receive movement and high temperature alarms with instructions to NOT check on the house, just dial 911 if they got either alarm. No alarms and a great vacation. This was a great addition.
Customer Star Rating
Erroneous movement alerts
written by Washington Irving
October 20, 2014
Great idea and works great. Had issue with door open and closed alerts but found my light would turn on then off for some reason in the safe and trigger the alerts, so this is an issue with the light. Now I'm getting movement alerts. Several came when I was home and knew they were false. My neighbor was good enough to check the perimeter of the house when I was not home and those alerts proved false also. I've had this for a year or more and the movement alerts started about 2 weeks ago so the unit has worked great until then.
Liberty's Response:
We'll have Elertus contact you on your false reads. Thanks for letting us know.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Product!
written by Rob
October 20, 2014
I have my safe located in my basement and my Linksys Router on my second floor. I have not had any problems with wireless transmission. The device is supper sensitive and rapidly sends notice of vibration or disturbance of the safe.

Keep up the good work!
Customer Star Rating
Can't setup my unit with new router!!!
written by Brett
October 15, 2014
I had this unit since June & worked great!! Then I had to buy a new router & this will not let me set up at all. I'm really pissed that my 200 dollar device has become a paper weight. I'm using a net gear router & shouldn't have any problems connecting but it simply won't
Liberty's Response:

Sorry you are having issues with your router. We're going to have Elertus contact you to determine the issue. There aren't very many situations that we can't resolve. Then, if it doesn’t work we’ll refund your money. We want to make sure you’re satisfied.

UPDATED REVIEW: October 21, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Service
Elertus called me on Friday & said to use Firefox instead of Safari browser & that did the trick. Not sure why because I used Safari the first time I set it up & worked fine. Anyway everything is back to normal again.

Thanks,
Brett
Customer Star Rating
Works as advertised!
written by Damanifesto
October 13, 2014
Setup could be easier, but once I got it going it works like a charm.

Unit sensors work well and it communicates with my wireless router across the house. I've had no problems with reception.
Customer Star Rating
better than expected features and performance
written by 55chevyman
October 13, 2014
I was apprehensive as to the signal that this would generate being inside the safe and having my router on the other end of the house.
It worked perfectly w/o any additional antenna's and has a better consistent connection than my 9 mo. old laptop.
Only operator problem was that I shut the PC down while away for the weekend and I kept getting communication error messages sent to my email. OPERATOR ERROR/PROBLEM!!
I love it.
Customer Star Rating
False Alarm!
written by Oliver
October 11, 2014
Works great after install I tested everything and it was very accurate. Now after a few weeks I was at work and got a door open alarm at 03:30am was going to call police but then received a door closed at 03:37am. I had already left work to rush home only to find no problems. Hope this does not continue when on vacation local Police will not like someone crying wolf.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks for letting us know Oliver. If it continues, call our customer service arm at Elertus at 801-657-5352 (Ext. 1)
Customer Star Rating
best idea ever
written by pennywise
October 6, 2014
I wish our government could solve problems as efficiently as safealert. pennywise
Customer Star Rating
Works great!!
written by JJ
October 6, 2014
I had to call Elertus to help with the installation. Problem with my wireless-not theirs. Got it going and it is amazing. Only problem so far is the Velcro on the unit let go and the unit fell inside the safe , sending me a movement text. I just sat it on the shelf.
Customer Star Rating
works great
written by Rick
October 6, 2014
I've had this system for half a year now and I am very happy with it.

My safe is located in my finished basement and, as such, in order to get the best function I added a repeater router downstairs. This, along with use of the external antenna, has given me excellent results. A side bonus is that my daughter, who lives in the basement, now has fantastic internet service for her computer and electronic toys ;)

Safealert works very well, alerting me every time I open the door and even a time or two when my Grandkids were playing with the handle on the safe. I also like the new humidity alerts.

I highly recommend this produce to every gun safe owner who has WiFi in their home.
Customer Star Rating
Works exactly as advertised!
written by AvgSO
September 29, 2014
What a great product. Easy to install and setup. Works every single time there is an "event". Barely touch the safe and you get a notice :-) Also love being able to send a message based on thresholds, etc.

I wouldn't own a safe without this device and recommend it to all my friends :-)
Customer Star Rating
Weak signal a trend?
written by JRdaSconnie
September 29, 2014
I'm on my second elert unit right now. First was replaced by Elertus CS after they said the one I received had a problem. It seems like it has the same issue many of you have had with low reception. I do not intend to get a WiFi extender as I'm sitting right next to the safe as I write this review on my Droid, running on my home network. Maybe Elertus needs to work on improving the reception quality of their units. Safes are often in the basement, which is not where many people place their router. Fix that issue and it should be a good product.
Liberty's Response:
That's no good JR. There are a couple of types of wifi routers that don't work well with our SafElert. We will be in contact to see if we can get this resolved. The antenae will generally allow you the ability to place your unit anywhere in the house. My safe is in my basement and the connection is just great. Hopefully we can come up with a solution.
Customer Star Rating
Randy's Fatboy
written by Randy's Fatboy
September 22, 2014
I have had the SafeAlert for several months now. The initial set up was simple and I had it working in no time at all. Only issue I had was the internet connection. I had to get a wifi extender to make the system work without getting the lost internet connection alert. My safe was too far away from my wifi connection and the external attena wouldn't help. A $35.00 add on but the SafeAlert works great now. Very happy with it. I did get a movement alert once and I thought this was a false alert until I found out that we just had a 3.0 earthquake so it worked fine. The SafeAlert did what it was designed to do, it moved and it told me about it. Works great.
Customer Star Rating
Great piece of mind
written by garylees
September 20, 2014
Works as advertised. Easy set up. Buying another for my 2ND safe!
Customer Star Rating
Disappointed
written by Chuck from Texas
September 15, 2014
I purchased a Liberty Lincoln safe, and one of the selling points was "It comes with a SAFELERT".

I read the instructions, watched the set-up video, and installed the SAFELERT. I tested it per the instructions, and it worked. It worked one time, THEN FAILED.

Following the instructions, the antenna connection was checked, the batteries were removed, checked for proper voltage, re-installed, and set-up performed again. IT FAILED AGAIN. The next day I called the Elertus tech line. A nice employee informed me that SAFELERT will not work on the Verizon FIOS system. This would have been nice to know prior to purchasing the Liberty Lincoln safe.

I would not recommend this product as I feel I have been burned.
Liberty's Response:
Chuck,
Thanks for your review. We understand your frustration with the incompatibility with the Verizon FiOS router. If we could fix it...we would. This is something that is mentioned on the SafElert page of our website, aside from that...there isn't much more we can do to get the word out. Send us an email marketing@libertysafe.com and we will exchange your SafElert for another accessory. We want you to be happy. Your Lincoln is a great safe!
Customer Star Rating
Great Product
written by Allegheny
September 11, 2014
The Safelert Monitoring System has been working nicely for me for about 2 months. The software configuration options offer a nice variety. I especially like the ability to receive email for some alerts and text messages for others and both if I want both. I would like the option to add a sensor to tell if the door is closed and locked and a phone app to check if it is closed and locked. Overall, a very nice product!
Customer Star Rating
Don't trigger on time
written by Robber
September 8, 2014
It will let you know after you get in safe, by then it's too late. Not to happy in performance with unit. Too much lag time.
Liberty's Response:
Robber,
Thanks for the feedback. This is not common feedback for the SafElert. There are a lot of factors that could be affecting the response time, such as your mobile plan, wifi connection, etc. We will be in contact to see how we can get this resolved and responding within the typical 30-second window.
Customer Star Rating
Traveling with confidence!!
written by Worried Traveler No More
September 8, 2014
Just got my Safelert two weeks ago, the peace of mind of being able to go out of town for a day or two knowing I have this additional layer of protection is incredible. Wish it would have been around ten years ago.

Thanks for a great idea and product.
Customer Star Rating
SafElert is a great product
written by Keith C S
September 8, 2014
I set it up initially with no problems. Then I got to experimenting with placement of it within the safe. The best place is where they TELL you to mount it, which is near the upper door hinge. I did not need the accessory antenna, and my wireless router is halfway across the house, behind several walls about thirty feet away.

One morning (I discovered a few hours later) that it had alerted at 2:51 AM and again at 5:07 AM. I had no clue what that was about unless the cats had been dancing on top of the safe. However, upon opening the safe the unit had fallen and was laying on the top shelf. "D'OH!" My "experimenting" with several placements earlier had deteriorated the glue of the Velcro. I guess the first alert from the unit was when it began to suddenly "sag" off the safe's sidewall, the the second alert was when it had actually fallen a few inches to the upper shelf. A new piece of Velcro backing was installed to fix it.

This is a great product and would provide extra peace of mind if one is traveling. You could be alerted wherever you are and then phone your local police to go to your house and grab a burglar or two. Hee! Gotta love that.

I would not have initially utilized this device if it were not offered free with the purchase of the Lincoln LZ50, but I am now seriously considering PURCHASING a second one for an older safe we have.

If you are thinking about the SafElert, my personal opinion, for what it is worth, is go ahead and get one. It is actually a valuable asset that adds to your home security and peace of mind.
UPDATED REVIEW: September 22, 2014
Customer Star Rating
Follow Up with Review
I wrote a previous review, a few posts below. Since then the Elertus device has reported a few "Loss of Internet" situations. This situation has also been reported by other reviewers. What is interesting for me is that every signal loss I received was on an exact time of 00, 15, or 30 minutes. During TWO of these reports, I was actually using my wireless router /computer and there was no loss of signal that I detected with the computer usage. In an attempt to check and remedy the issue, I removed the Elertus batteries, waited a minute and reinstalled them. After clearing the "Movement Detected" alert I received from that, I did not receive any more of the "Internet Loss" notifications. If you receive these notices, try removing and reinstalling the batteries. Again, I was on my computer for TWO of the "LOSS" notices, so I feel confident that the signal was NOT actually lost. I have not received any more "LOSS" notifications, and this is now more than a week since the issue. Could this really be an issue with an internal product "glitch"? Keith C S, Arizona
Customer Star Rating
Continued Fasle Text Messages
written by Dave M
September 8, 2014
I have had the device for several months and I have no faith in it. I am continually receiving text telling me it has sensed movement when nothing has moved and also constant text telling me it has lost internet connection, four times last night. I have been on the internet several times when I have received text telling me it has lost connection. My phone bill has gone up six to seven dollars a month from all the false text messages.
Liberty's Response:
Dave M,
It sounds like you have a connection problem. Generally the antenna will fix this issue. We will contact you to see how we can help.
Customer Star Rating
Der Hammer
written by Der Hammer Von Hubertus
August 29, 2014
I have had my SafeElert system installed for 2 weeks now and it works great with no issues. I love the ability to set the variables for the triggers/mobile app and weekly notice. Gives me a feeling of comfort when I am up at the cabin in the north woods.
Customer Star Rating
Excellent Device and Peace of Mind
written by Rick Kelly
August 25, 2014
I received this product for free with my purchase of a Lincoln series safe. I am sure glad I did because I probably wouldn't have purchased one otherwise. Set up was easy and didn't need the external antenna for reception (although it is fairly discreet). The device is awesome and gives you alerts via text and/or email. I can program it to alert family or friends if I am out of town. You also get a weekly status report if you haven't been looking at your app. I like the fact that you can adjust the parameters for temperature and humidity for alerts. You can also choose which alerts you wish to receive and by which method. Not only will I order another for my older safe, but I will definitely recommend this to my family and friends. I even have a free app on my mobile devices which allow me to view the status of my safe and change monitoring parameters is I wish. With everything being free, except the small initial cost of the device, how could you not buy one? Thank you Liberty Safe for a wonderful and complete security system for my firearms and other valuables.
Customer Star Rating
Great Product!
written by Perry
August 25, 2014
Easy to install and works superb! Does everything as listed. When I leave my house for an extended period of time I will go into the website and change my settings to "maximum" activity.
.
Suggestions on those who are having problems:
1). For those that are irritated by the "too often" messages, just lesson the activity on the website until you need more notifications (e.g. door opened).
2). If you have a bad signal, try installing the "external" antenna. The signal has to go through a lot of metal if only transmitted from inside the safe to that could be the problem. Also, a week browser/receiver could be a problem.
.
Great job on all the features and security of this product LIBERTY! :)
Customer Star Rating
Wouldn't be without!
written by Thomas Helms
August 25, 2014
Installed this in my safe about a week ago and now I don't know how I went so long without it! Works flawlessly! Absolutely best money I've spent for piece of mind! I haven't had even one false alarm or problem. Highly recommended to anyone who has anything to loose if someone broke into or messed with their safe.
Customer Star Rating
Exceptional product
written by Easyam
August 18, 2014
This system has become indispensable. It works flawlessly and was very simple to install. I now feel secure when away. I would recommend this device to my friends, family and anyone that owns a gun safe. It does exactly what it promises to do.
Customer Star Rating
Liberty Safe is SAFE
written by DRAK7
August 18, 2014
In the last two months that I have had the Safe Alert product installed, it has functioned flawlessly. I have noted other customers comments on false motion alerts and have had NO false alerts. The motion sensor is VERY sensitive and will trigger if I slap the side of the safe with my open hand, which I did to see what it might take to get a motion alert. Better too sensitive than not sensitive enough.
Customer Star Rating
Good hardware, needs work on the soft side
written by Chris
August 16, 2014
I have two of these, one with the antenna extension and both work well. When will Elertus update the Liberty offering to support multiple devices with one email address?

The android app hasn't been updated since December, their own branded version was updated in May and those extra features would be nice in the Liberty flavor app.

Like the hardware, needs some work on the software side.
Liberty's Response:
The capability to monitor multiple devices on the same app/account is coming soon! Like tomorrow soon. You should see an email from SafElert with additional details of how to make it work. 
Customer Star Rating
Works Great!
written by Feeling Safe
August 13, 2014
I would recommend this system to everyone, It works great, is easy to install and is affordable for everyone.
Customer Star Rating
Great piece of mind.
written by Gungeezer
August 11, 2014
I bought this unit and installed it as per the instructions. For the first few days I got "door open alerts" several times a day. I reset the unit and still had the problem. I started thinking, I have the motion activated lights that came with my Liberty Safe. I put a camera inside the safe set on light activation. Sure enough, the camera caught the lights mysteriously coming on causing the false door open alerts. I turned the lights on manual and my alerts disappeared. The only time I get an alert now is when the door is actually opened.

I would highly recommended this unit to anyone. It has made me feel much more secure in knowing I will be notified if my safe is tampered with when I'm away from home.
Customer Star Rating
Works great!
written by John Wesson
August 4, 2014
So far this product has worked with no false alarms. Safelert gives me peace of mind when I'm not around. I also like that you can send alert messages to other people if you are out of town. I would buy this item again.
Customer Star Rating
GREAT IDEA
written by Larry
August 4, 2014
After some trial and error, the Safelert Monitoring System has settled down and works very well. Had to reposition the unit from the sidewall as shown in the setup instructions to setting on the top shelf and secured to the sidewall. Also, even with the external antenna, low signal strength from the internal transmitter, required the addition of a web extender, located on an adjacent wall to obtain solid communications with my in-home network. Technical staff service was excellent!
View More »