Live Chat

Made in the USA

Franklin Series

A Small Investment in Big Security


An affordable line that offers many of the benefits of our higher tier safes, our Franklin safes feature the following:

  • 75 minutes of certified fire protection
  • 11-gauge steel safe body
  • Up to 15 - ¼” thick locking bars
  • 4-in-1 Flex™ interior

The Franklin models also include these accessories:

  • Electrical outlet kit
  • Interior lights
  • Deluxe door panel
Lifetime Warranty • Made in the USA

PRICE: Starting at $1,949
Payments starting as low as $44.34 for 60 months (14.99% APR) or 12 Months Same-As-Cash! Subject to credit approval.

Build your Franklin

 

Looking for something else? View our other safes!

Franklin Ratings and Reviews


Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating View All Ratings

Average 4.9 out of 5 stars for 4134 customers ratings and reviews


written by Andy on March 13, 2019

Franklin 1776
written by Saxon Ross on January 17, 2019
Good safe, finish on the exterior is horrible. Hoping a warranty claim can get this resolved.

Overall quality is excellent; combination stopped working in les
written by Brent on September 8, 2018
Had it not been for the combination failing to open the safe in less than a week from delivery, this review would have easily been 5 stars. The quality and flexibility of the interior is great, I just wish I could open it. Depending on how helpful customer service is when I call them, I'll be more than happy to change my review.

Poorly assembled interior
written by Doc on August 26, 2018

Dave @ A1 Safe was Pleasure to Purchase From
written by CER1 on June 23, 2018
The safe itself seems like OK quality for the price. I do not care for the somewhat cheaply made particle board shelves and gun racks. The cover fits and functions very nice but I would of preferred if it was made out of a heavier material. I think I should have opted for a slightly higher quality and cost when selecting a safe.

The best part of the safe purchase was dealing with Dave from A1 safe. Very informative and helpful plus he delivered the safe himself.

It'll do for now.
written by Zim on December 2, 2017
I'm not quite sure why Libery charges so much considering the walls of the Franklin are only 1/8 of an inch thick. That and they don't come with dehumidifiers of any kind. That's extra of course.

Fortunately (or unfortunately?), Liberty's Franklin was the only container that I could physically examine that met my, apparently strict, requirements for an RSC (i.e. internal hinges, no fire protection gap around the door, pre-installed electrical and data pass throughs, customizable shelves).

Though it's not a true safe by definition (or construction), I'm mostly satisfied with my Franklin series RSC and I would likely recommend Liberty to folks who can't or don't want to shell out for a true, beefy safe.

Franklin 50
written by Ben Franklin on October 20, 2017
Very good safe, my only complaint is the lighting. For the price I paid for a Liberty Franklin 50, Liberty should include a better lighting system.

Liberty Franklin Average
written by Art Vandely on June 19, 2017

Great product, took 9 weeks for delivery.
written by Hank on June 3, 2016

written by mheinen on September 29, 2015
Door adjusters were missing but have received new parts to correct issue. Not really satisfied with the adjusting system. Machining tolerances should be better to improve the quality of fit of the door/air tightness and anti-prying.

The safe was a good price for the size. I would have spent more on the issues listed above. I am a former machinist and understand metal tolerances have a huge impact on quality and durability. I am considering modifying my new safe to improve key features. Specifically, adding a locking bar across the door and adding a pry plate to bottom of safe.

Peace of mind requires additional measures for some of us. For now, the safe was built sufficiently well for the price payed.

a few issues.
written by My home Illinois on August 16, 2015
i will review the safe at a later date. i have a few issues that the i need to contact the seller concerning. once i have done this i would be happy to review the Franklin. once the issues are resolved i'm sure that i will give the safe 5 stars.
Liberty's Response:
We will be in touch and get this resolved for you. Today!
UPDATED REVIEW: October 9, 2015
Good quality/great Franklin safe
I wish it was possible to give a 4.5 instead of a 4.0 rating. Except for a couple of minor issues with the paint, the quality of the safe is excellent. AND the price was right! One bolt guide needed replaced and it was quickly mailed to me. It took all of 2 minutes to install. The door rattled. But I received instructions from Liberty that i didn't need to use. Since the installer/repairman came back and adjusted the door for me.

The only real issue I have had with my experience was that I needed to assist the installer with installation of the lag bolts. He was alone. So I don't know how he would have been able to lag into the 4x4's in the crawl space with out my help. At 63 I just don't bend like I did when I was younger. But like the paint, this was a minor issue.. This is the only item that keeps me from rating my Liberty Franklin a solid 5.0.

Sharee Holman, my customer support agent, was very quick in responding to my 1st review and then sending me a care package with a small bottle of paint and plastic bolt guides to replace the one that was doa. I would recommend Ms. Holman for anyone that needs Liberty customer service!

Ms. Holman's fast service response and the installer's final adjustments on the 2nd trip is why I am adjusting my previous 3.0 to a 4.5 rating.

Thank you Liberty for my Franklin

Roger's gun safe
written by Roger on July 10, 2015
The safe itself is great, however my experience with the lights really is a huge negative
Liberty's Response:
Roger, we agree, the lights should be the same quality as the safe. We had a bad batch go out and it sounds like you recieved some of that batch. We will send you a new set of lights.

written by Ron on January 28, 2015
Very thin gauge steel
Liberty's Response:
The Franklin Series is constructed out of 11 gauge steel. while 11 gauge is not the thickest steel we use, we have found it be an extremely capable and a secure gauge for several of our series of safes. It is a great combonation of strength and value.  

Hmmm....a review
written by -Aaron on August 30, 2014
It's the color and size I wanted. The door is tight against the body when shut and locked.

Franklin PA
written by Chad Bass on August 22, 2014
The safe has been a good experience start to delivery. I have had an issue with the electronic control but believe it will be resolved,

Liberty Franklin 35: Bittersweet
written by Zach S. on June 12, 2014
After ordering the safe, I waited almost 2 months to finally have it delivered. Not a big deal at all, I completely understand there is a high demand and production can only happen so quickly. No complaints there. Anyway, I received my safe, and quickly noticed a very severe grinding noise when turning the handle to lock the safe. One of the locking bolts is rubbing on the inside of the safe, and is scratched and scored fairly deeply. After waiting so long and spending a lot of money, I was quite disappointed to encounter what I consider a reasonably significant issue such as this. I sincerely hope Liberty and/or my dealer will be willing to work with me on this to make things right. On another note, the safe looks very nice, the finish appears to be of high quality, and the subtle ornate touches on the front make this safe a pleasure to have in my room. I am happy with the accessories that come complimentary with my safe, the lights are a must. My dealer was nice enough to even throw in a plug-in dehumidifier. As mentioned, I truly hope the issue with the bolt will be fixed as soon as possible, because it really leaves a bad feeling about my experience, and completely detracts from what would be an otherwise finely crafted product.
Liberty's Response:
Zack S.,
Thanks for your reveiw. We definately want to get your bolt problem fixed and operating as it should. A member of our team will be in contact and will arrange a solution. We will get you taken care of and you will love your Franklin!

Franklin Series Safe
written by One of the People of America on May 5, 2014
I will give my feed back by word of mouth on how Liberty answers my questions I've emailed them and about how Liberty handles on their safe!
Liberty's Response:
We will have our customer service department call you so we can get your questions answered. Thanks.

written by formula on January 13, 2014

Great safe for the value. Lacks in details (quality control)
written by JT on January 11, 2014
With a couple of small inexpensive improvements it could easily be the best safe for the money. If the safe would seal a little better and paid attention to the small details (i.e. inside cosmetics and outsourced products). The liner had fallen almost all the way out of the light casing. The installer fixed it but something so obvious makes you second guess quality control. The motion sensor lights are cheap and do not function properly. Again, probably saved a couple bucks by going with the cheapest vendor. Everything else with the safe is amazing. Where the quality really matters Liberty did it right. I would buy again but expected a little more attention to detail from Liberty and their well deserved reputation.
UPDATED REVIEW: March 7, 2014
Previously gave a 3 star.
If you read my previous post, I gave my Liberty Franklin 50 only 3 stars. Primarily because of quality control issues. I normally don't comment good or bad unless I have had a sub-par and or above expectations experience. The customer service from Liberty is second to none and should be recognized. They have made met and went beyond what was necessary to resolve the issues. I can assure you, Liberty stands behind there product better than any other manufacture I have ever dealt with.

You can buy Liberty with complete confidence!!

Disappointing Purchase
written by Disappointed Costumer on October 24, 2013
The door pin bushing was damaged, the door does not shut/close right, and the accessories kit was missing. We were disappointed after spending so much money. Had to make a trip back to Gander Mountain for parts and kit. The door still does not close properly.

It was important to our family to buy an American made product. We also have another Liberty safe that we have had for around twenty years. We were satisfied with our purchase of the first safe.
Liberty's Response:
We are sorry to hear your safe came in this condition. We will have our customer service department contact you shortly so we can work out these issues. Thanks for your patience.

Poor door fit
written by Mac M. on October 13, 2013
There is a problem with the loose fit of the door and the very unsatisfactory plastic spacer intended to help reduce the problem. I'm disappointed in my safe for this reason. This is the only problem I've encountered so far with the safe.
Liberty's Response:
We will have Acey from our customer service department contact you regarding your loose door and see if we can get this issue resolved for you. Thanks for your feedback.

my safe
written by Celeste on September 30, 2013

So far-
written by Waiting Customer on September 28, 2013
I like supporting US businesses. Did tons of online reading and thought that Liberty was the way to go cost/benefit wise. Impressed in the showroom with the safe and quality, however 3 days before install and Liberty ships a safe of the wrong color/hardware from what I ordered. Now I'm told it will be weeks until I can get the one I ordered the first time in. Hope the right one comes this time and that it gets here quick!
Liberty's Response:
Dear Waiting Customers,

That's very unfortunate that the wrong safe was shipped. We will contact you to determine where this went wrong and the dealer from which you bought the safe. Hang in there. We'll see what we can do to expedite your safe.

Too early to tell
written by Safety first on September 18, 2013
I might have given five stars, but want to verify first whether the door on my safe is supposed to have movement when it is closed. Otherwise, I believe I bought the proper safe for my needs.
Liberty's Response:
We will have Acey, our customer service representative, contact you regarding your door movement. The doors are designed to ship with foam protectors in the corners of the door and when removed makes the door seem loose. There are door tightening adjusters just inside the door that can be adjusted using the hex key provided in the STOP envelop (the one with the manual in it). Hope this helps. Glad you like your Franklin. Nice safe!

Good bang for the Buck
written by Jim on September 2, 2013
I did a lot of research before purchasing a safe. I bought the Franklin 27 model, which seemed to have good features (fire rating, lighting, electrical cord, electronic lock, etc). I also considered Browning, Stack on, and Fort Knox safes in my hunt for the right one. It seemed only the Fort Knox and Liberty were built in the USA. The fit, finish and features on the Fort Knox were better than that of the Liberty....but lets face it I am simply securing valuables, not trying to show off the paint job on my new car. For about half the cost you get much more bang for your buck in the Liberty. I would recommend buying their products. Buyer beware, the retailer you are buying from might not have any accessories for your safe such as a dehumidifier, and more importantly they may not have anything to assist you in getting the newly purchased safe into your truck or trailer. One would think that if a company is selling safes that weigh thousands of pounds that they would have a forklift, but this is not the case.
Liberty's Response:
You bring up some good points Jim. We will discuss with the retailer to enhance their offerings. Thanks for letting us know.
 

Mixed review, stout safe but cheap trim and extras
written by DrN0 on August 25, 2013
The safe itself appears to be stout and well made, but the trim and lighting package leave much to be desired.

When I first received the safe, the extra shelf I ordered had caulk/glue all over it. My dealer promptly ordered a replacement at no charge. Unfortunately, when that one came in, it too was covered in caulk/glue. My dealer, thankfully, took the time and risk to clean it for me without damaging the trim.

When I opened the lighting package (triangular shaped light pucks), they looked cheap, but I hoped for the best. I haven't even had the safe three months and I just discovered one of them fell off (cheap sticky velcro) and now is non-functional.

If you purchase one either don't pay for upgraded trim and this style lighting, or try one of the other lighting options.
Liberty's Response:
Dan will contact your regarding your lights. We have a soltuion for you DrNo.

Disappointing exterior finish.
written by Disappointed in Kentucky on August 1, 2013
I wanted the security and quality of a Liberty safe, and was willing to pay the higher price. I am satisfied with the interior condition and features of the safe. Unfortunately, it arrived with numerous flaws in the exterior finish, including a chip, poor paint coverage on the welds and several "pits" and runs in the gloss finish. This was a "factory first", but looked much worse than a "factory second" we considered. My retailer was very uncooperative, which surprised me as a Liberty dealer. The exterior finish and poor response from my dealer are the only reasons I am hesitant to give a good recommendation. I am hoping the Liberty company will be more helpful in resolving this issue.
Liberty's Response:
We are sorry to hear that you have had to deal with these issues. We will have Robert from our Customer Service department contact you shortly to see if we can help to resolve them. Thanks for your feedback.

SEE UPDATED REVIEW ABOVE OCT 23, 2013

buyer beware....it isn't safe to buy these safes!
written by Disapointed and unarmed! on July 24, 2013
First off, I love the safe (now that it works). Sturdy, nice looking, well laid out. Inside is huge and access is great. The best door storage I have every seen. The shelves are the sturdiest of any safe as well.

Now for the warning, in general, their quality control and customer support are terrible!!!!!
1) After locking the FIRST safe the first time, the safe wouldn't open. Locksmith also couldn't open. After drilling 2 holes in the side of the safe (which was wrong due to bad info from tech support at Liberty), it was finally drilled thru the top with success. My imprisoned guns were finally released. Problem was an improperly installed clutch from factory.
2) After 4-5 phone calls (and no help from my dealer, Liberty finally sent me a replacement safe (3 months later). There customer support was terrible. Even after talking to the manager of customer support, she didn't return phone calls (AS PROMISED) or answer multiple voice mail.
3) I finally got hold of "ROBERT" (remember the name as you will need him). The only knowledgeable, professional, competent, and concerned person at Liberty that I have talked with. He had the issue rectified in 15 minutes.
4) The SECOND safe (which replaced the first that malfunctioned) was delivered yesterday. Still in the factory box. I was disappointed (but certainly NOT surprised) to find the safe was missing the lights, the power cord, the shelf tabs, one gun shelf, and had the wrong lock attached. Thank GOD that "ROBERT" (AGAIN-remember the name as you will need him. The only knowledgeable, professional, competent, and concerned person at Liberty that I have interacted with). Again with enthusiasm, speed, and courtesy, he has the missing items on their way in 4-5 days (hopefully)

I must admit that the safes are great. They look great and are the most functional and usable of all the safes that I have owned. On the other hand, dealing with Liberty (with the exception of Robert) is a nightmare!!!!!!!! You have been warned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Liberty's Response:
Wow, you've really been through the ringer. Glad Robert made the difference but we will also use your review as a reminder and teaching tool to complete our promises and return service requests. Thanks for letting us know.

Franklin 25
written by Dan Smith on July 20, 2013
would recommend if they took more care when packaging the safe shelf's to prevent damage to inside of safe

Great Safe / Horrible Lights
written by blckwhtball on July 8, 2013
I have nothing bad to say about this safe at all. The only thing I have to complain about are the "Lights" that come with the safe. I loaded the batteries into the lights and turn them over and the battery doors come flying off the back and batteries go flying. No matter how gentle I am setting the lights into the safe the battery panels keep coming off. I don't know how such a great company can allow such a horrible part to be used. After spending this much on a safe I would expect the lights to actually work but now I have to go out and purchase lights to go into my safe. If it wasn't for this fact I would have rated this safe at 5 stars!
Liberty's Response:
In most cases, the lights work fine. In your case, we need to replace them. We'll have someone call you for a fix. We also have a solution on the way. Thanks for letting us know.

UPDATE: July 18, 2013
I received my new safe lights today and they are amazing. Thank you again for everything and making my purchase correct. I will send anyone looking for a safe to Liberty due to the amazing quality and awesome customer service.

Thanks, Justin


Some what worth the wait
written by Fireman750 on June 26, 2013
I finally received my Franklin after waiting 6 months for it. I understand quality takes time but when it was ordered i was told it would be 30 days until i would have it. At the end of 30 days i was told 60 days, then 90 days then 2 more months. There was a large miscommunication between the dealer and Liberty which is very confusing for the consumer. I could not get a straight answer from anyone and after spending that amount of money it would have been nice to have someone that could tell me when it would arrive. Now that i have it i can not get the lights to stay where they are suppose to. They continue to fall and im concerned they will damage one of my firearms. I know i made the correct choice by choosing a Liberty Safe but the whole buying experience and lack of customer support and now the light issues has left a bad taste in my mouth.
Liberty's Response:
We have a fix for your lights Fireman750. We'll contact you first thing tomorrow regarding your service. Thanks for lettings us know.

UPDATE: 6-27-2013
This is a update from my review yesterday. I was contacted by Liberty's customer service. They have made everything right and i am 100% satisfoed with what they offered. Great company and great people! Thanks Liberty

Safe update
written by Zukowner on June 3, 2013
Have had my safe a week, and I'm loving it. Come home from work, gun belt goes in, knives go in.

But, and there always is a butt. Thought there was a bit much play in the door and looked to make an adjustment, unfortunately for some reason my Allen-key does not fit the screws in the door. I called customer service and was advised that I needed a 1/8 in Allen key to access the door adjustment. Well it looks like the four screws on the frame were over tightened by someone and they won't budge. Now I must find a way to get these screws out and get new ones. Pain in the butt?
Liberty's Response:
We'll see what we can do again and contact you for possible solutions. 

written by Georgia Dawg on May 31, 2013

written by redd dog on May 16, 2013

Good design, bad execution
written by Twiggerman on May 9, 2013
My safe was delivered today. It was happy with the store and the delivery/installation. But the fit/finish on this is sadly below what it should be for the price. Here are a few of the issues I noticed:
-The shelf rail adjustments aren't in line with each other so the shelves are canted regardless of how I adjust the clips.
-The safe was delivered with only one interior light, not two. Easily remedied but a detail that shouldn't be missed.
-The plastic recess for the lights are held to the drywall board with two chincy staples. The one holding the one light I did receive has already fallen out.
-There are a couple places where it's obvious the factory skimped out of the fabric glue and it's coming off the backing board. This is mainly on the floor where it won't be noticed but its a stupid detail that shouldn't be overlooked.
-There is one paint scratch on the top of the door which is not noticeable unless it's open.
-The plastic pieces which are near the hinges are not fixed into place which instantly caught my eye because the velour fabric edges were visible. I easily adjusted it but it's still a detail which matters.

I'm happy with the overall engineering and design of this safe. The firm which sold it to me and the delivery/install was very good. But I cannot help but think there is too much corner cutting on the manufacturing side. It's sad if this is the state of "made in America".
Liberty's Response:
Twiggerman, you are right. This safe never should have made it out of our factory without those details corrected. We will forward on to not only our final assembly team for training, but also to our senior managment to help implement correct proceedures to eliminate in future shipments. Robert will be contacting you with solutions to most of the issues. We want to get you taken care of. Let us know how the service goes.

Franklin
written by New Safe Owner on April 4, 2013
Not a bad safe for the price, but with just a little bit of effort the fit and finish could be a lot better.

B.M. from Sanford
written by Texas Ranger on March 27, 2013
Safe shipped in time as promised. Missing 14 shelf clips, 2 shelf covers and a 3-outlet adapter. After spending this much money on an American-made safe that's supposed to be the best in the world I was disappointed with the quality control. Gander mountain supposedly contacted Liberty to order the shelf covers. Gander came up with the 3-outlet adapter and 4 more shelf clips. I bought the rest of the clips at Ace Hardware.
Liberty's Response:
Hey Texas Ranger, we'll have Robert contact you from our customer service division to help with the rest. Was your safe a floor model? Either way, we'll make sure you get the rest of the parts.

Decent safe fair price
written by Archery hunter on March 11, 2013
Good safe only 3 stars because the two top shelves have no center support and sag with anything heavy.

Franklin 50
written by lance@texoma on February 11, 2013
Lighting could be better with LED's running down sides! Thinking about upgrading to LED's! One problem we ran into was the manufacturer label displayed a 90 minute fire rating which would be a Lincoln but the outside door has Franklin emblem; no Lincoln features included! One question I might have is "is it a Lincoln or is it a Franklin"?
Liberty's Response:
According to the serial number you have a Franklin 50 safe. Dan Moore in our customer service will contact you and send you the correct 60 minute fire rating. 

FR35
written by Tom on February 6, 2013

FR35
written by Big Rick on January 2, 2013
So far I am happy with the safe

great but not perfect
written by john adams on December 19, 2012
I think the safe is great but needs a few tweaks. Just small things like having fixed lighting strips powered by the plug in, it should have a key just in case but still have the locks it has now, and it should come with the dehumidifier. I really wanted these things but could not pay the extra for the higher models and I did not need the extra security so it was kinda a waste for me. I just wanted the little extra accessories.

An American Safe
written by Jameson on December 5, 2012
It is a good to excellent security container. I think the interior could be a little better and some shortcuts could be seen to cut production costs. Still it is a quality product, and a good buy for an American made safe in this gobal market. I have complete faith that Liberty will stand behind it and my firearms and important papers are well protected.

Still waiting.
written by Rev. Miller on November 11, 2012
I am still waiting to see what kind of warranty service I get.
The very pouch I used, the zipper broke.

I haven't even tried the other ones.

And the safe is level, but the door swings close every time you open it.
Annoying.

Other than that, I am very well pleased.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks for letting us know Rev. Miller. We will have someone contact you today. We will need to replace the door panel to fix the zipper if it is broken. The zippers come in the starter position, which is half way zipped in the middle. It looks like it's broken because both sides looked zipped. But if you'll zip the zipper all the way to one side and then all the way back to the other side it fixes the issue. Regarding safe leveling, we will need to have our dealer come out and level properly so the door stays in the open position where you want it. 

Winning Balance
written by Sam Curtis on November 3, 2012
What it lacks it makes up for with price. Needs bolts on all four sides of door and heavier steel. 10 gauge min. but 7 gauge would be best. Other than that it's a winner. The price is good the fire rating adequate, the fit and finish excellent. Inside real plywood would be an improvement over particle board. For strength over time I can see issues if loaded heavy. You can't beat the warranty. Made in the USA makes it a no brainer over the imports.

poor quality
written by T.C. on October 25, 2012
As stated in my 10/13/2012 email to your info services website I have some defects with my safe. Two of the mesh pockets on the door are ripped (poor stitching) one of these in almost 3 inches in length, As stated in said email, not that I should have too, but I can restitch myself. The next problem is more severe, the weld on the rear right corner is completely sub-par. All other welds are neat and clean, but this has a 6-8 inch seem that has been improperly welded then ground down to a very uneven rough surface. This is unsightly in appearance and I wonder if this is now my safes weakest link. I have other issues-minor in nature, but still leaving me soured over this whole experience, Also did I mention I had to wait OVER 6 months to receive my safe?
Eagerly awaitng your response,
Respectfully,
T.C.
Liberty's Response:
Thanks TC for your review. We will contact you Friday Oct. 26th.

not so flexible interior
written by Brien on September 18, 2012
I have my safe set up in the ez access configuration. The first thing i didn't like was that the gun support is tapered towards the door. This means that all scoped rifles have to be put in the back. There is a cutout on the far right side of the top shelf for longer guns but it will only hold four long guns, not enough for me. We opted to get the electronic lock and I am disappointed that the numbers aren't illuminated when activated for possible night time use. Last thing, our paint was scratched upon the safe arriving at the dealer.
Liberty's Response:

Thanks for your feedback. We will have customer service contact you and offer some touch up paint and a higher center divider to help you fit your guns. We are looking at a lighted keypad by S&G. Stay tuned.




*Made in the U.S.A. from U.S. and Global Parts.