PRICING

MSRP: $279
SALE: $259

HDX-250 Smart Vault Ratings and Reviews


Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating

Average 4.8 out of 5 stars for 310 customers ratings and reviews


Great safe!
written by Ellenpj1 on March 27, 2017
Love having the security and peace of mind of a safe place for pistols.

Aaron VanDyke HDX-250 Smart Vault
written by Aaron VanDyke on March 22, 2017
This is a great product. The only issue is that the vault interior does not light up as advertised.

Best Gun Vault Out There
written by Sam Adams on March 16, 2017
I did a lot of research on vaults and the Liberty HDX-250 Biometric Smart Vault fit my needs perfectly. My wife and I have easy access with a swipe of a finger in case of a break in. I like that it has an A/C adapter with a 9 volt battery back up, lighted interior and stores up to 15 fingerprints. Also came with 2 keys. I highly recommend this gun vault. Made in the USA!

written by on March 14, 2017

Security on steriods
written by Todd on March 11, 2017
I love my new vault! I love the quick access to my firearms with the fingerprint scanner! It keeps easily 3 guns and clips. I purchased the mounting hardware (really is a must if you don't want your safe being stolen). I like the ease of programming it. Everything about the safe is top notch! It is just like the old adage, "You get what you pay for"; but it this case you get more!

HDX-250
written by John -Texas on March 10, 2017
So far so good! just received the vault today, works good!

Best Gun Vault
written by Matt Dillon on March 8, 2017
I own another gun vault. It was purchased a few years ago!
It doesn't compare in quality to the HDX-250 !

Bigger than expected, awesome safe!
written by Orly on March 7, 2017
After plenty of research on this type of safe, I bought the HDX250 and I'm glad I did. It was very easy to program my fingerprints and I am confident that my little ones will not be able to access what's inside. It opens every time with no issues in about a second and a half, but I still would recommend that you use the ac adapter for faster access. I was pleasantly surprised of how much room is inside the safe and the lighted interior is a bonus. It would've been nice if the safe came with mounting hardware, but that isn't enough to give it less than 5 stars. Other safes like this one do not hold a candle to it. Liberty has done it right!

written by LARRY on March 4, 2017

Biometric Handgun Safe
written by Rick Yates on March 3, 2017
Very pleased with my purchase.

Does the job
written by SoftwareDevJason on March 3, 2017
Easy to setup and does what I need. The only disadvantage I've found is that my wife's smaller fingers do not get recognized as well as mine.

Great safes and vaults
written by Massimo on March 2, 2017

RDS
written by RDS on February 27, 2017

THE BEST!
written by Von Allen Jones on February 24, 2017
The HDX-250 is THE BEST!

written by Bill on February 22, 2017
Quality handgun safe. The instructions suck. Rewrite them as someone who has never seen the product and doesn't have a clue.

Great Customer Service for malfunction
written by Joe on February 21, 2017
Price and reviews sold me on initial purchase. Have to say a little frustrated that at one year the biometrics failed (fortunately not under duress). Excellent customer service and prompt replacement as issue couldn't be repaired. If the biometrics hold this time, I'd move it to a 5 star.

Excellent Quality, Quick Access.
written by Dan on February 21, 2017
This safe is built to top quality standards. The fit and finish is excellent. The access is quick when needed. Great safe.

Top quality construction
written by mwhdvm on February 19, 2017
Very pleased with this product. Quality of construction is top notch. Only complaint I have is that when it's on battery power only, it always indicates that the battery is low. Thankfully there is an adapter to connect it to AC power and the battery will work fine as a backup.

written by Tina on February 19, 2017

New Liberty owner
written by New owner on February 6, 2017
What an amazing safe. Battery backup with an AC power adapter. This safe holds two of my personal firearms and still has room for a few other small items such as my wallet. Biometric for both myself and my girlfriend so no worries should any of us need quick access.

Great USA Quality - best value
written by Satisfied Customer 2017 - NRA Life Member proud on February 5, 2017
Easy to setup and use with redundant key access. This product ensures Grandkids can't get acces but provide quick reliable acces. I tested quick opening multiple times to ensure it would work when needed and it worked every time as advertised. What more can you ask!

wonderful product
written by Teresa on February 5, 2017
the safe is easy to access your firearm while keeping it secure and safe. I like the figure swipe capability so I do not have to worry about keeping up with a key. I would recommend this to anyone

written by Thomas on February 4, 2017

Appears to work as planned
written by Ron B on February 4, 2017

JD fan
written by JD fan on February 3, 2017
Seems like a good product

Just hit a snag
written by SMD on January 30, 2017
After setting up and literally in the middle of registering and completing this review I noticed one of the corner pieces to be broken. The product itself is fantastic but it appears the box was dropped on its corner during shipment.

2nd Liberty Safe
written by Bart on January 29, 2017
I've had large Liberty Safe (Fatboy) for years and have never had an issue with it. When it came time to look for a pistol vault, I was pretty sure of the brand I would buy. I looked at a couple others and came right back to Liberty. I expect I will not have any issues with this safe either.

Simply the best!
written by Richard Noggin on January 29, 2017
It's the best handgun safe on the market period!

HDX-250
written by Brandon T on January 28, 2017
Great Safe i would give it 5 stars if it didn't slam open.
I wouldn't let that get in the way of buying it.Great gun safe

Liberty HDX-250
written by Jack on January 26, 2017
This is a USA top quality made Gun Vault. Biometric strong selling point. Recommend this to anyone looking for a Gun vault.

Child Proof Safe
written by Dan C in Tulsa OK on January 24, 2017
This safe is built using high quality steel material. It provides a secure safe for loaded weapons that can be accessed quickly using nothing more than your fingerprint. I love it and have it located on my night table next to the bed for quick access. You can register more than one person to have access to the safe. However, it will not open for anyone not registered such as children or burglars. I highly recommend this for anyone considering buying a safe for their handguns.

written by M ule chsser on January 22, 2017

Reliable firearm security, CA DOJ approved.
written by Denny Crane, Esq. on January 22, 2017
Choosing a gun safe in California is made more difficult by the fact that the law requires that the gun be stored in a DOJ approved safe, but the CA DOJ approved some cheap safes in the early years and then grandfathered them in when the standards were raised. There are plenty of video demonstrations of approved brands being broken into with a zip tie, a plastic wall anchor, a paper clip, a magnet, or by bouncing. Nowhere on the internet/YouTube could I find someone demonstrating an easy break-in of a Liberty Safe. I also appreciate the fact that the fingerprint scanner is reliable. Some manufacturers warn that people over 55 should not purchase their biometric safes.

The door opens very quickly (I use the transformer). The HDX-250 fits under my nightstand, and does not scream out "GUN SAFE" which is important because we have young nieces that visit.

The only real negative is the inability to attach a cable lock. We have hardwood floors, and I am not going to screw a mounting plate into the hardwood floor. (Low WAF on that one). It might be nice if the door opened quietly, but I am of the school that believes that stealth invites a confrontation whereas intruders empty out when they hear signs of an armed occupant. Friends in law enforcement tell me that racking the slide on a 12 ga. is almost always effective. On the other hand, I live in a gated community within a safe neighborhood, where the odds of a nighttime burglary are miniscule. Your experience may vary.

Finally, thanks to DeanSafe for demonstrating the Smart Vault and verifying that my old fingerprints can be read by the Liberty HDX-250 scanner.

Good quality
written by satisfied customer on January 21, 2017
Really pleased

Great Quality
written by Chuck B. on January 16, 2017
It sits proudly on the bedroom dresser. The design, quality, value, and construction of this Smart Vault is without comparison. This set-up was easy and I had it running within five minutes.

Nice gun safe
written by Coyote on January 16, 2017
First time gun owner new to Concealed Carry, I bought this safe for easy access to my firearm in case my husband isn't home or we get a burglar. Mostly easy to get running but just a bit confusing to "train" to fingerprint recognition. Otherwise very nice product.

Safely covered in Ohio
written by J J S on January 4, 2017
Vault set up and operated as advertised. Like the 15 Fingerprint feature and A/C adapter function. Happy to find a quality American Made product. Keep up the good work.

written by Bill on January 3, 2017
We really like the safe but i think we need it is a little hard to get opened so I am a little hesitant about keeping my gun in and have to get to it in a hurry.

written by sailbks on January 1, 2017

written by Safely protected on December 31, 2016

Liberty Safe Made in the USA
written by Trout on December 30, 2016
Trump would be proud. A very nice product made right here in the USA.

Unable to set up yet.
written by JPM on December 30, 2016

Safe and convenient
written by Clint Casey on December 29, 2016
Great solution for keeping family safe.

Quality made in the US of A!
written by Matt on December 27, 2016
Set-up is easy. Opens quickly and keeps my gun close and easily accessible by me only.

Best way to keep my family safe and keep my kids safe!
written by From colorado on December 25, 2016

FMC
written by FMC on December 24, 2016
Looks great and Liberty has very good reputation, but I'll get back after I've used it for a while.

written by Darrin K on December 24, 2016

Good product.
written by DanR on December 23, 2016

Excellent product
written by Grapelady on December 21, 2016

Very Pleased
written by Mywife Lovesme on December 21, 2016
My number one consideration in buying a gun vault was quality, ease of access and made in the U.S. I have shopped around for a couple years but kept coming back to Liberty. Finally my wife bought me me a gun safe from liberty for my birthday and ever since I was convinced my gun vault had to be from Liberty as well.

I am very happy with my vault, excellent quality, the biometrics works every time in less then a second usually, and Liberty is built in America. There is actually a Liberty Safes outlet within 10 minutes from my home.

View More »