PRICING

(HD250FLAG)

(FREE SHIPPING!)

MSRP: $249.99
SALE: $219.99
(HD250) $249.99

HDX-250 Smart Vault Ratings and Reviews


Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating View All Ratings

Average 4.7 out of 5 stars for 512 customers ratings and reviews


Honest Opinion
written by Handgun Safety on December 16, 2018
Safe is quality made. Love interior light. Dimensions good for our bedside table. Biometric setup was terrible. Finding register button was awful. Anyway, Cud only register two fingers. No additional fingers able to be registered on my safe. Same situation with my wife's safe, only two fingers. Only I can open this safe so any visitor (welcome or not) cannot get to my handgun. Liberty, you must revisit your biometric setup. Please understand, if the biometric locks on doors are selling well, it is because these locks are working. Your biometrics are not reliable based upon our experience. Additionally, my wife's safe made a sound when accepting her two fingerprints. My safe made NO sound when accepting my two fingerprints?

Locking system stopped work after 1 year
written by Frank on November 17, 2018
I love the reputation of liberty. It worked flawlessly until recently (approx 1 year of usage). Now the locking mechanism motor attempts to unlock the door but is unable to. I lightly oiled the latch on the front door but it still will no open without manual assistance. I love everything else about the safe aside from the above issue.

written by Lynda Holmes on September 10, 2018
Difficulty in getting the safe open, good quality materials though.

written by Tammy Brown on September 9, 2018

Guess we're still learning...
written by Old Ump on July 14, 2018
I'm hoping to change this rating to 5 stars with time, but for now we're having issues with recognition of finger prints. We've followed the instructions precisely, but it's still not always recognizing my wife's prints, which kind of defeats the purpose of having this sort of gun vault. Although there is a key for the vault, the speed of access is what we were looking for.

Bio Sensor doesn't work consistently
written by BigR on June 23, 2018
The safe is well made and high quality. I was concerned about the bio sensor working all the time first time, and after having the actual vault, my concerns turned out to be true. Sometimes the vault opens on the first pass, sometimes many passes are required. Not very good, especially in an emergency.

Don't use the power supply
written by CDB on April 3, 2018
I'm glad I read these reviews, because I was having zero luck getting the fingerprint reader to work, but had only tried with the battery and the power supply plugged in. After reading DB's review on March 5, I tried programming and opening using just the 9 volt battery, and it works! So I don't know if I've got a bad power supply, or bad control board, but I'm hoping to get this fixed or it's going back to Cabelas. Otherwise this safe seems well built.
Liberty's Response:
Thank you for the review.  Please call our customer support at (800) 247-5625.

Well built, secure safe.
written by Jimmy Doogan on March 14, 2018
Well built, but biometric functionality is not great, at all.

Print reader problem
written by DB on March 5, 2018
Baught this safe 3 days ago ,unboxed it , read the manual , found the override button, not quickly. And programmed my prints . Tested the vault , and it worked about 8 out of 10 times "acceptable " then I plugged in the ac adapter, and tested it again it worked 0 out of 10 times ," not acceptable " unplugged ac adapter and it worked again. Reprogramed with ac plugged in did not work . Will be calling liberty tomorrow.
Liberty's Response:
Sorry to hear about your troubles with the unit.  We have passed your information to our customer support who will be calling you.

On the fence due to difficulty registering fingerprints, and ina
written by Fred Nitchy on March 2, 2018
I am pleased with how solid the safe feels. I am also happy with the mounting bracket that I purchased separately from Liberty Safe. The safe is not going anywhere. However, I have not been able to register my fingerprints after multiple attempts. When I called the customer service phone line I encountered a serious issue with the automated system. It gave me multiple options with which to reach certain departments, but when I pressed the corresponding numbers I was told that the option was invalid. Interestingly enough, the only option that worked was the one that disconnected the call. I have emailed Liberty Safe with the hope that they can either help me with the fingerprint registration, or assist me with a replacement safe.

Limited Edition HDX-250 bought on Black Friday at Cabellas
written by HDX250 owner on November 26, 2016
I would have rated higher however my "Limited Edition" does not include the AC adapter, I thought I was getting a great deal, not so great when AC Adapter costs $25 plus shipping etc.

Undetermined On Quality
written by Brandon M on August 31, 2016
Liberty has always been a great name in safes. This HDX-250 does not seem to be as high quality as others I have purchased. I am a little disappointed. It seems like a good safe and good for its intended purposes, but I usually expect great when I talk to my friends about Liberty. I still believe in their big safes, but not sure on this one yet. Maybe the scanner will get better over time, we will just have to wait and see.
Liberty's Response:
I will have a member of our customer support team contact you about the scanner.  It sounds as though you may be experiencing difficulties with it.

Easy Access
written by Safety First on February 2, 2015
I purchased this pistol vault due to the fast and easy access provided by the biometric system.

I did not take the time to investigate other brands.

The install was easy and I like the option of mounting several plates in various locations.
Although I have only had the vault for one day, so far the biometric system seems to work well. Programming was easy.

The online video for the battery installation is wrong, as of 2/2/2015. Do not attempt to install the battery as instructed. It won't fit. Not wanting to damage the vault, I returned to the store for assistance. The tech was able to install the battery in a different orientation as described in the instructional video.

I do not recommend using the AC power option if wanting to mount the vault out of site. This may provide a trail for the bad guys to follow.

The vault seems thin and weak. I could wobble the vault after mounting it on the plate and I am not strong. It seems like the vault can easily be pried from the mount using even a small bar.

I'll use it in conjunction with the home bugler alarm in the mindset that the bad guy may not want to spend the time to locate and pry the vault from the mount while the alarm is ringing out loud.

I will probably place the pistol in my heavy rifle safe when gone for extended periods.

Would I recommend this product to a friend? I checked yes but really wished there was an undecided option.




For more instructions on setting up your safe, view our Programming the Liberty HDX-250 video.