PRICING

(HD250FLAG) $279
(HD250) $279

HDX-250 Smart Vault Ratings and Reviews


Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating Star Rating View All Ratings

Average 4.8 out of 5 stars for 447 customers ratings and reviews


Very Good Pistol Safe
written by Engineer in Sac on June 18, 2018
The HDX-250 seems to be constructed very well. The unit itself feels heavy and solid. Enrollment of fingerprints was very easy. The interior blue light is a nice touch. The only downside, I would say is the loud noise it makes when it is actually opened. Definitely can be heard a few rooms over inside a quite house. I placed a rubber mat between the floor and mounting bracket in an attempt to dampen the sound the door makes when it falls.

Overall great quality.
Solid construction.

Excellent Quality
written by Pen on June 16, 2018
This safe is very sturdy, and by my guess, would take a lot of time and effort to break into. The price is very fair for this safe, and I'm happy with the purchase. The design is clean, and the initial setup and programming is easy. The only concern I have is there is no means to secure or anchor the safe down, and it is light enough that someone could just grab the whole thing and run.

Hounds
written by Hounds on May 28, 2018

written by Nicholas on May 9, 2018

written by MommaPell on April 27, 2018

I did like it alot
written by disappointed on April 14, 2018
This worked really well, until it didn't .

Very good safe, works great!
written by Lonestar147 on March 18, 2018
It works very good but I had a hard time loading my fingerprints, it helped to go online and watch video. I finally got it then. I like the AC adapter, the battery will last longer. This my second one, the first one didn't have an AC adapter.

written by N on March 17, 2018

HDX-250
written by Rocket on February 20, 2018
Hard to program the fingerprint reader.

New safe
written by Goosefraba on January 15, 2018

Good Vault
written by Jgolfer on January 11, 2018
Biometrics are a little second rate compared to what is iut there (see the iPhone) and they are a pain to program, but they work.

iowa
written by iowa on January 1, 2018
would recommend

HFX-250 Smart Vaulted
written by Bob on December 22, 2017
Good quality for the most part but the battery compartment is poor quality and the ribbon should not be exposed inside the hand gun compartment.

Hdx-250 smart vaut
written by HB on December 17, 2017
Hdx-250 smart vault works well. The only reason I give 4 star review is safe opening is not fast enough for me.

New gun guy buys a safe
written by New gun guy on December 17, 2017
I recently purchased a Liberty HDX-250 Biometric Smart Vault. So far I have been satisfied with its performance.

HDX 50
written by MPL - Chicago on December 15, 2017
A recent purchase and very pleased with the price. 9volt battery missing from the contents in the box, and to early to tell of my opinion of the vault. Update to come!

Piece of Mind.
written by Mushroom Picker on November 26, 2017
For the first time in my life I have quick access to a loaded firearm in my house. Kids protected, and the gun is ready i the need arises.

written by CHUM on September 29, 2017

written by satisfied customer on July 17, 2017

Great Product
written by JPB-BBN on April 11, 2017
I would have given this 5 stars, but twice I could not get it to shut and latch. I scanned my finger and then it latched. I'm checking with Liberty to see if this is a defect or when this occurs you must re-swipe your finger to reset the latch mechanism. I've probably swiped over 80 times and only had 2 incidents of not latching. Regardless if it's this safe or another, I always double and triple check to make sure it is latched.

Aaron VanDyke HDX-250 Smart Vault
written by Aaron VanDyke on March 22, 2017
This is a great product. The only issue is that the vault interior does not light up as advertised.

written by on March 14, 2017

written by LARRY on March 4, 2017

Biometric Handgun Safe
written by Rick Yates on March 3, 2017
Very pleased with my purchase.

Does the job
written by SoftwareDevJason on March 3, 2017
Easy to setup and does what I need. The only disadvantage I've found is that my wife's smaller fingers do not get recognized as well as mine.

Great safes and vaults
written by Massimo on March 2, 2017

Great Customer Service for malfunction
written by Joe on February 21, 2017
Price and reviews sold me on initial purchase. Have to say a little frustrated that at one year the biometrics failed (fortunately not under duress). Excellent customer service and prompt replacement as issue couldn't be repaired. If the biometrics hold this time, I'd move it to a 5 star.

written by Tina on February 19, 2017

written by Thomas on February 4, 2017

JD fan
written by JD fan on February 3, 2017
Seems like a good product

HDX-250
written by Brandon T on January 28, 2017
Great Safe i would give it 5 stars if it didn't slam open.
I wouldn't let that get in the way of buying it.Great gun safe

written by M ule chsser on January 22, 2017

Good quality
written by satisfied customer on January 21, 2017
Really pleased

Nice gun safe
written by Coyote on January 16, 2017
First time gun owner new to Concealed Carry, I bought this safe for easy access to my firearm in case my husband isn't home or we get a burglar. Mostly easy to get running but just a bit confusing to "train" to fingerprint recognition. Otherwise very nice product.

written by Bill on January 3, 2017
We really like the safe but i think we need it is a little hard to get opened so I am a little hesitant about keeping my gun in and have to get to it in a hurry.

Unable to set up yet.
written by JPM on December 30, 2016

Just got it
written by Bill C on December 19, 2016
Looks good so far, but I haven't even programmed it yet. Initial impression of quality is excellent.

Five star except for a common problem with all biometric safes..
written by pomgirl on December 7, 2016
Only reason I didn't give a five-star rating is because, as with any biometric device, the technology is sound but will probably improve over the next few years. YOU have to help in the operation by using clean, dry finger pads. Can't fault Liberty if it doesn't work properly with hand lotion on my fingertips:-)

written by Novice on December 5, 2016

First safe, couldnt do better
written by Mr. E on December 4, 2016
It is a little tricky to register the prints into it but you just have to read the instructions and be persistent. It's a great safe

Very Pleased
written by Family Safety First on November 10, 2016

Nice safe
written by SLDH on October 29, 2016
Great safe, but take a great deal of time to set up.

Getting the firearms safe and secure from children or those who
written by Iron Red Rooster from Texas on October 14, 2016
Please send me this question again after I have set this up and used it so my comments are properly quantified and verified. My trade for many years since 1976 has been a Machinist and I can say now this safe is made with American skills and craftsmanship with lots of attention to detail. I am sure however I will likely notice things which I will mention later after use which may likely interest you very much.

Very good safe
written by armedandharmless on September 28, 2016
This is a good safe. The only issues I have are the diagram showing the location of the programing button and somewhat of a problem scanning smaller fingers. I am male and I have smaller fingers. I refuse to give out the size of my feet, that would be too personal. ;) Anyhoo, once I determined that larger fingers work better my wife was able to easily scan her thumb. It was a no-go on my and her index fingers. A note in the manual would regarding finger size and an improved diagram of the button would upgrade my review to 5 star. As is, it's a 4 or 4.5 and a great buy.

written by Ryan on September 20, 2016

great safes
written by Bob on September 11, 2016
So far have not needed this in a pinch. Set up was basic, but took a few tries to get the reader to respond when trying to program What helped was a few reviews. Said to keep trying. Once it response to your first finger it went easy from there. I programed two fingers on each hand for my wife and myself. I was sad though the battery that came with it was dead, so for now it only works while plugged in. Hoping there is no other problems with it once I get a new battery.
Liberty's Response:
Sorry to hear about the battery.  While unusual, it can happen as it has in your case. Please contact our customer support deparment and they will send you new batteries.

written by nnn on July 27, 2016

HDX-250
written by MT on July 16, 2016
Gave the HDX-250 four stars for two reasons, the biometric reader was hard to program finger prints into it, once they where programed it worked flawless. the second reason was the mounting it does not say anything on the box about a optional mounting plate, unless you have a right angle drill you really need to have the mounting plate to get a secure mount. at this price point you would think it would come with one.

Liberty Scores
written by Charlie Vermont on July 8, 2016
I recently purchased a Liberty Smart Vault HDX-250 and am very pleased with the overall construction and operation. The only two aspects that may need future refinement are the enrollment process and the noise/operation of the vault door Other than that (some of which may be operator error), I am very satisfied with the quality of the product.

This is my first handgun safe....
written by Jim1019 on June 24, 2016
And I'm very pleased that it's a Liberty! I won an HDX-250 through Project Child Safe. So far, I love it. Getting the sensor to read consistently has been a bit of a challenge for me, but it opens for my wife every single time! I've had issues with other finger scanner devices, so I think it's more me than the safe!

I'm currently saving up for a large floor safe and Liberty is the only company I plan on buying from.

View More »
For more instructions on setting up your safe, view our Programming the Liberty HDX-250 video.